Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-25-2015, 08:26 AM   #1

1971 25' Tradewind
Amarillo , Texas
Newby looking to buy a Tradewind

Hey every one. I'm Dustin. My wife and I live in the Texas panhandle with our three daughters. We are looking to get an airstream to renovate and travel with. We're not really looking to gut one one but more repair, replace and make our own out of one. I work in the oil field, I'm mechanically savvy, I build old cars in my free time and do most of the repair and maintenance on our house. So plumbing electrical and mechanical don't scare me at all.

We are looking at this 71 trade wind that has seen better days for sure. The seller is asking $5500. I'm wondering if this is a fair price for condition and what I should look for upon my second viewing. I've been reading the forums for a couple days now so I'm aware of things such as the rear sag due to frame rust or breakage.

Our plans for this trailer would be to pull all the cabinets and bed frames. Replace the missing window, paint and refinish wood surfaces and replac the table by the kitchen window. Check and fix any plumbing issues and wiring. Pack wheel bearings and check the torsion axles. I'm sure quite a few more things will come up as we progress.

Here is the CL AD
https://amarillo.craigslist.org/rvs/4854016872.html

And some pics I took

Galley window surround is shot

New wood floors

They took the fridge out
The bed is just a full size mattress on the original frame. It will be coming out.