Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-24-2021, 09:14 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1978 25' Tradewind
Evergreen , Colorado
Eleanor: Full Reno Blog

This Air forum community has been so welcoming. Thankyou to everyone who has already given me advice and help. This is my first attempt at ever blogging one of my own projects. Usually my wife takes a few pictures of whatever we are working on and posts them on social media, but this project is unique. I am a greenhorn in the Airstream community and I'm always open to learn something new. I expect to make mistakes, so If you see me doing something really dumb I hope you'll correct me!

I'm a very adaptable person and I expect my plans and ideas to shift as I work; but I will make one commitment right now. This isn't a partial reno or a simple gut job. You will not see this trailer shell listed for sale in a month when I realize I bit off way more than I can chew. If I have to sleep on the rusted frame as I pinch pennies for months (years?) to afford this project, it's what I'll do.. I won't quit.

That said, hoo boi this project intimidates me. I've renovated an enclosed 16 foot hauling trailer, and I've renovated a home, but this Airstream's unique combination of the two seems like an entirely new journey. After finishing the renovation on our mountain property in Colorado, my wife and I decided to rent out the house, get a trailer, and hit the road. I look forward to the road part, but for now it means undertaking a new and unique project/investment/lifestyle.