Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-10-2003, 03:48 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

'61 Sarfari - plastic or masonite endcap?

Hi,

I am new to Airstream and this list. We just got a 61 Safari and even though it is in good shape we have a lot of work to do.

The interior paint on our 61 Sarfari is cracked & pealing. I checked several spots and found that the interior front endcap was light brown underneath. I was expecting aluminum. Does anyone know what material this might be? Is this unusual or are all 1961 and older Airstreams built with this style? Is there any differance with painting or stripping this materail?
Rick Dotson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 06:49 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

hmmmm, how odd! The interior shell should be all aluminum covered with a zolotone (industrial type speckle paint) in a light beige or off white tone, maybe pink or aqua if special order. No masonite on the wall at all. The cabinets originally were plywood in birch or mahogany. Mike
wildcat455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 06:55 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

Oh, forgot, Welcome to the wonderful world of Airstream. I think we're a cult! Once hooked there is no turning back. The good news is there is some wonderful people here and you're gonna have some great times in your Airstream. Mike
Old 08-10-2003, 07:47 PM   #4
Vintage Alum. Enthusiast

1959 24' Tradewind
Phoenix , Arizona
Welcome to vintage Airstreaming Rick. I have seen a few early '60s models with a one piece plastic end cap on the interior. That is one of the things I wanted to avoid during my search a few years ago. I know how plastic reacts to the desert heat.

FF

I'm haunted by aluminum.
Charter Member of the 4 Corners Unit.
flyfshr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 07:50 PM   #5
3 Rivet Member

hmmm, I stand corrected, ya learn something new here everyday if you just listen. Mike