Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Tradewind > 1959-69 Tradewind
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-12-2009, 07:55 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1964 24' Tradewind
printer , Kentucky
New to airstream have several questions about a 1964 Tradewind

for starters I have always wanted ine and now that I have it I need to do alot of work, will post pics as I work on it. My main focus is the inside but, there are some things I have never done before.

The top vents are one. the two small one have fans, one cover works and the other has been capped over and screwed down. The larger one has been boarded up with plywood on top of the camper and taped over with metal tape. What is missing there? And Where can I find replacements for what is missing?

Another problem is dents, I read most of these forum pages and see that there is really nothing to do for it, The previous owner opened up the arean where it is, which is at the rear, bathroom area, top rounded area. Which seems to be even a more hard place to fix, any ideas before i seal up the hole? Also the area inside, Is that fiberglass? and since its rounded what would be the best fix, fiberglass?

the bathroom toilet seat is there with some kinda fabric cover that closes over the lid. My problem is after you raise the lid there is the bowl, it has a ring cap around the edges of it, it's mounting holes are broken and it just laying there. any one know where to get a new ring?

I really want to restore it to, at least original layout, but a bit prettier color sceme. The frig area has been removed I would like a clear straight on pic to go by to replace it. Got one ?