Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-25-2008, 11:21 PM   #1
If I Rest I Rust

1960 26' Overlander
Natchez , Where the Old South Lives
The Reclamation of Olivia Overlander

I have started the process of restoring an old Airstream lovingly named Olivia. I am new to the AS Forums and am still learning to navigate this site. I purchased her on an ebay auction. I had been looking for AS no longer than 24 ft as I planned on doing a lot of traveling in the next year. I wanted something easy to pull with my truck yet not so small as to feel cramped. I really liked the layout of the Overlander twin model. I also wanted the door in a door pre 64. When I saw this camper for a fare price I jumped on it.
I hauled it back from South Carolina on a wing and a prayer, as I really bought .......as my mother calls such things "A Pig in a Polk". The gods of Aluminum and rubber smiled on me as I camped and cleaned my way back across the south to my centrally located home in Natchez Ms. I traveled with Shawyn as my navigator and co-pilot. He has been on several Cadillac adventures as I call them Where we buy an old Caddy and haul it home to play with as a Hobby. This trip proved to be almost to much for Shawyn as it rained ....No STORMED all the way home. I took back woods roads home and traveled around 150 miles a day unfortunately there were no Star Bucks on the back roads and he got Cranky! After 3 days the GPS found a SB in Albany Ga.where it brought us to a location in Crack town on a small street to small in fact to turn around on and worse yet NO STARBUCKS.........This is where I had what is now known as "STARBUCKS RAGE" see picture.....