Airstream Forums

Airstream Forums (http://www.airforums.com/forums/)
-   LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f287/)
-   -   Newbie with propane problem (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f287/newbie-with-propane-problem-95918.html)

Tom Williams 09-01-2012 09:23 AM

Newbie with propane problem

Hello Airstreamers:
I should let you know first that I am new to the RV world and in particular to the Airstream crowd. I just got an 84 Limited 34" and I am unable to get the Frig and Hot Water to fire up.

Both try to auto lite, but both don't seem to be getting propane. The roadside gas appliances work fine.

Frig works on electric.
Both bottles recently filled.

Thanks,
Tom

CanoeStream 09-01-2012 09:47 AM

Hello Tom. Welcome to the forums!

Can you get your stovetop burners to light? Use a match if needed. That's the easiest way to tell if you have propane getting past the regulator -- and regulators can get old. Most of us start the stovetop burners for a moment when we've just refilled our tanks and there is any question of how much propane is in the lines. The stovetop uses plenty of gas and this fills up the lines best.

purman 09-01-2012 09:55 AM

Sometimes there are shutoff Valves in the line before the fridge and hot water tank. There is one before my hot water tank. Follow the lines underneath from the tanks to the fridge and hot water tank to see if there is one.

ebair 09-01-2012 11:11 AM

I think it is likely you have air in the gas lines, when you fill the tanks the air must be purged. Run the stove top for a bit, then you may have to try to start the other appliances several (many) times to purge th air. The fridge uses little gas so it takes several attempts to re light.

Silver Otter 09-01-2012 01:08 PM

Tom,