Airstream Forums

Airstream Forums (http://www.airforums.com/forums/)
-   Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f449/)
-   -   How Big AC Input Amps??? (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f449/how-big-ac-input-amps-34367.html)

Sundance 07-18-2007 04:18 PM

How Big AC Input Amps???
 
I have a new converter coming for the 26' Argosy.

The AC box has 2 ea 20 amp breakers. But the plug in for the trailer looks like 30 amp.

My question is that I am sure I need to up grade to 50 amps with the new additions. But not sure.

Here's the major users of AC

*Armstrong A/C
*New Atwood 6 gal Lp/Electric Wtr Htr
*WFCO WF-9865
*Small Microwave
*LCD TV

Do I need to get a 50 amp trailer power cord??

Do I need 50 amp?? (I would think so)

I was thinking of a 50 amp box with 1 ea 20 amp for A/C;1 ea 20 amp for Wtr Htr; 1 ea 10 amp for Micro; and 1 ea 10 amp for the rest??

My lack of electrical knowledge is likely dangerous......:)

Any suggestions are appreciated..... Thanks

vswingfield 07-18-2007 04:29 PM

30 amp service
 
Hello,

Take a look at this thread:

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f427...fit-33581.html

I was considering adding a second AC, and the conversion from 30 to 50 amps is addressed very well here.

IMHO, no way do you need more than 30 amps. You can't use the microwave and the AC at the same time, my Excella has a two way switch, but you can run everything else. I have a 37" LCD and a Mac G4 tower in mine. You might want to replace your breakers with new ones. Mine cost less than $15. They are getting old anyway.

Vaughan

Pop Rivet 07-18-2007 04:34 PM

30 or 50
 
I suspect the 30 amp will be ok. Each componet you list has a wattage rating. Total up the watts and divide by the voltage (110) and you will have a pretty good idea how much current will be used if all the loads are energized at the same time. Don't forget to include your converter.

Watts/voltage = current. This formula is missing afew things but is good for estimating.

vswingfield 07-18-2007 05:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vswingfield
You might want to replace your breakers with new ones. Mine cost less than $15. They are getting old anyway.

Vaughan

That was less than $15 for all of them.

Vaughan

Inland RV Center, In 07-18-2007 06:16 PM

Air Conditioners
 
Any air conditioner will have stats based on ambient temperature and line voltage. At a fixed voltage at a fixed ambient temperature, it will do as the label says.

Bu the higher the ambient temperature, the greater the currect demand.

The lower the line voltage from 120 VAC (not 110 VAC) the greater the current demand.

Combine those two and sometimes a 20 amp breaker will trip.

However, under no circumstances should any RV air conditioner be fused beyond 20 amps.

To do so, is asking for an equipment failure, should the line voltage as an example drop and the ambient temperature be high.

Low Freon levels lead to compressor burn out, since it will not keep the compressor cool enough. It happens.

Andy

Sundance 07-18-2007 07:11 PM

Thanks for the advise........ I like not having to upgrade thats for sure.

Hard to figure out the wiring in my Argosy. There is no wiring diagram and I've googled til' blind without finding one.

I am concerned on how to wire in the Atwood electric water heater as the old one was LP only.

There is a single box with 2 ea 20 amp breakers. Each breaker has only one wire routing down into the wall.

To the right of the breaker box (a foot or less) there is a junction box with 3 or so connections. As I said, without a wiring diagram it's a head scratcher to figure out what to tie into.:sad::sad:

Inland RV Center, In 07-18-2007 11:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sundance
Thanks for the advise........ I like not having to upgrade thats for sure.

Hard to figure out the wiring in my Argosy. There is no wiring diagram and I've googled til' blind without finding one.

I am concerned on how to wire in the Atwood electric water heater as the old one was LP only.

There is a single box with 2 ea 20 amp breakers. Each breaker has only one wire routing down into the wall.

To the right of the breaker box (a foot or less) there is a junction box with 3 or so connections. As I said, without a wiring diagram it's a head scratcher to figure out what to tie into.:sad::sad:

I will post some answers for you tomorrow, when I am back at my office..

Andy

Sundance 07-18-2007 11:53 PM

Thanks Andy

Inland RV Center, In 07-19-2007 10:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sundance
Thanks for the advise........ I like not having to upgrade thats for sure.

Hard to figure out the wiring in my Argosy. There is no wiring diagram and I've googled til' blind without finding one.

I am concerned on how to wire in the Atwood electric water heater as the old one was LP only.

There is a single box with 2 ea 20 amp breakers. Each breaker has only one wire routing down into the wall.

To the right of the breaker box (a foot or less) there is a junction box with 3 or so connections. As I said, without a wiring diagram it's a head scratcher to figure out what to tie into.:sad::sad:

There are three basic 120 VAC circuits in the older Argosy trailers.

There should be a single 30 amp master breaker and 3 20 amp breakers.

One circuit is for the left side of the trailer, the second circuit is for the right side of the trailer, and the third circuit is for the roof AC.

However, if the trailer during production did not have an AC, then only two 20 breakers were used.

The AC wiring, is within the shell.

Andy

Sundance 07-19-2007 12:59 PM

Thanks Andy........ Apparently mine must have been added after production as I have the 2 ea 20 amp breakers.

I will just have to track these circuits down by flipping breakers and disconnecting wires at the junction one by one. Not the end of the world and I can look at it as a learning experience.;)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.