Airstream Forums

Airstream Forums (http://www.airforums.com/forums/)
-   Mechanics Corner - Engines, Transmission & More... (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f159/)
-   -   torque spec (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f159/torque-spec-30194.html)

Daddy4Bob 02-17-2007 04:02 PM

torque spec
 
Does anybody know the tourque spec for the thermostat housing on a 454?

TomW 02-17-2007 04:13 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Clymer says 30 ft-lbs.

Tom

balrgn 02-17-2007 04:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Daddy4Bob
Does anybody know the tourque spec for the thermostat housing on a 454?

The book does not call for torque, snug tight.
(Excerp)
"Use a new gasket and sealer" Refill the cooling system and run the Engine, cheacking for leaks."

balrgn 02-17-2007 04:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TomW
Clymer says 30 ft-lbs.

Tom

Hmm opposing info, I've never torqued.. for what it's worth.

I'd use caution @ 30, talked to my Goodwrench Mechanic, "It'll snap it"

TomW 02-17-2007 04:31 PM

Grade 8 bolts? Kind of doubt it.

But I torque with a calibrated arm too.

Tom

Fyrzowt 02-17-2007 07:42 PM

They don't come with grade 8 do they?
Dave

Excella CM 02-17-2007 07:49 PM

"Torque is cheap" Not critical in this case. More important is that the mating surfaces are cleand and flat. Lap the housing on a piece of carborundum paper or use a file to make sure it's flat.;)

scottanlily 02-18-2007 12:55 PM

some fasteners such as a thermostat housing DO NOT need a torque wrench to be used .snug down the bolts so they are tight ,don't lean on the wrench
either .over tightening can break the housing "ears" off as well and distort the housing itself .The bolts are normally grade 5 ,they will have 3 equally spaced
marks on the bolt head ,grade 8 will have 6 marks .you don't need grade 8 bolts ,5 are typically the norm for intake manifold ,stat housing and many brackets on the engine as well .If you torque the bolts and one breaks off in the intake manifold ,it'll be big trouble and certainly ruin your day .


Scott

overlander63 02-18-2007 04:30 PM

If you really feel the need to replace the bolts, you can put stainless fasteners in place of the zinc plated grade 5 ones. They are pretty cheap, and will resist corrosion.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.