Airstream Forums

Airstream Forums (http://www.airforums.com/forums/)
-   Generators & Solar Power (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f448/)
-   -   Honda EU2200i (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f448/honda-eu2200i-179830.html)

Cispook 04-05-2018 07:23 AM

Honda EU2200i

Already made the decision to go with the Honda generator. Primary purpose will be battery charging if and intermittent 30A power if required.
As a generator newbie I noticed Honda has two models of this generator and the only difference I see is the 30A plug which adds $100 to the cost.
Is this worth the extra dollars? What accessories will I need to hook up and get the system running?
Regards

Moflash 04-05-2018 07:38 AM

You want the one with the 30 amp plug.

Gamehawkers 04-05-2018 07:55 AM

You in your research may already know this and Not to rain on your parade but you may not realize that those small generators don’t put out 30 amps unless you link two of them with parallel cables. One of the generators is actually named the companion and has the 30 amp receptacle. By themselves each generator puts out less than 15 amps. Together they put out around 26 amps.
So, if you want to run all your 30 amp systems especially the air conditioning you need to buy both. If you only intend to charge the battery then you are correct. I am only mentioning this to save you possible grief in that running the air conditioning with only one unit will damage the air conditioning over time leading to expensive replacement

Cispook 04-05-2018 12:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gamehawkers (Post 2084965)
You in your research may already know this and Not to rain on your parade but you may not realize that those small generators don’t put out 30 amps unless you link two of them with parallel cables. One of the generators is actually named the companion and has the 30 amp receptacle. By themselves each generator puts out less than 15 amps. Together they put out around 26 amps.