Airstream Forums

Airstream Forums (http://www.airforums.com/forums/)
-   Sprinter and B-van Forum (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f240/)
-   -   Our Journey Begins - 2018 AI TB Lounge (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f240/our-journey-begins-2018-ai-tb-lounge-173135.html)

Air99 10-19-2017 11:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Protagonist (Post 2023732)
Exactamundo! It allows you to hook up in your driveway— or someone else's driveway when you go visiting— without needing a 30amp receptacle.

The dealer will probably give you one, but it will probably be a straight one like this that will try to pull itself out of the receptacle due to all the weight sticking straight out from the the socket:
http://www.sportsmanswarehouse.com/i...99011_1_og.jpg
The dogbone style is much preferred even though it takes more room to store.



I found this adapter not working at all locations I have been to, including my garage and all my relatives, got something to do with GFI in series. This is without any loads in the RV and with shore power setting at 20A, I gave up and put in 30A socket with proper wiring.

Air99 10-19-2017 11:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Air99 (Post 2023746)
I found this adapter not working at all locations I have been to, including my garage and all my relatives, got something to do with GFI in series. This is without any loads in the RV and with shore power setting at 20A, I gave up and put in 30A socket with proper wiring.



To clarify, I meant this and 3 other 30A to 15A dongles as well, all tripped the breaker or the reset on the GFI outlets. This maybe unique to my AI who knows.

Protagonist 10-19-2017 11:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Air99 (Post 2023750)
To clarify, I meant this and 3 other 30A to 15A dongles as well, all tripped the breaker or the reset on the GFI outlets. This maybe unique to my AI who knows.

If you plug into a GFCI-protected 15amp outlet, turn off the breaker for the GFCI circuit inside the Airstream and just use the other circuits.

When you have a GFCI-protected circuit plugged into another GFCI-protected circuit, the upstream one can see the downstream one as a ground fault because of the circuitry the downstream one uses to detect ground faults.

Natuzzi 10-19-2017 12:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wachuko (Post 2023742)
Excellent. Thank you. Added to the list. And also validated which 50-30 to get... not the straight unit but the first one I listed with the dogbone-styled. Cool.

Just a comment; a few years ago we bought our first RV and went through the exact same exercise as you are currently. We are now getting ready to sell that 31’ Kodiak to get a smaller self-contained Class B+. When going through all the “stuff” we bought 5 years ago in anticipation of all our upcoming adventures, at least half of it was still in the original box! Some things like the surge protector, fresh water hose(s), window tint, etc., are a given and you should proceed. But, other things can wait until you have taken a trip or two to determine if you are really going to “need” or use them. Also, be sure to learn what items your selling dealer is going to include with purchase. Some dealers are more generous than others and some give great discounts on supplies from their store as a result of your purchase. Have fun and enjoy!

Air99 10-19-2017 12:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Protagonist (Post 2023755)
If you plug into a GFCI-protected 15amp outlet, turn off the breaker for the GFCI circuit inside the Airstream and just use the other circuits.

When you have a GFCI-protected circuit plugged into another GFCI-protected circuit, the upstream one can see the downstream one as a ground fault because of the circuitry the downstream one uses to detect ground faults.



Bingo Protag! I’ll definitely try it next time, beats running the noisy generator for hours just to keep the fridge cold when parking in relatives driveways. Thanks!

TayaraTravel 10-21-2017 09:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wachuko (Post 2023201)
Just consolidating the list that I have so far and adding some last minute items I had forgotten.

Anything else that would be classified as a must-have-now for a newbie starting the RV life? ...

If you haven't had enough to spend money on, here is a similar thread we used when preparing for our Interstate a few months ago:

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f240...ar-164408.html

As others have noted, I'd keep the initial list short and add to it after experience. We bought-then-disposed-of several items from our startup list.

Pahaska 10-21-2017 09:57 AM

After driving through the "love-bug" swarm in SE Texas and, later, a swarm of migrating butterflies, I found that a long-handled squeegee/windshield-scrubber is an absolute must.

I store it behind the second-row seat with the business end out by the sliding door and the handle held in a spring broom holder mounted on the front wall of the black-tank enclosure. Because I have a bump installed on the sliding door rail, the sliding door ordinarily doesn't open far enough back that the squeegee is visible unless I roll the door past the stop to the Airstream-installed stop.

Protagonist 10-21-2017 10:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pahaska (Post 2024559)
After driving through the "love-bug" swarm in SE Texas and, later, a swarm of migrating butterflies, I found that a long-handled squeegee/windshield-scrubber is an absolute must.

Ditto. The long handle of mine is the collapsible 10-foot pole that I mentioned in Post #46 that I use for measuring questionable overhead clearances.

wachuko 10-21-2017 04:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Protagonist (Post 2024561)
Ditto. The long handle of mine is the collapsible 10-foot pole that I mentioned in Post #46 that I use for measuring questionable overhead clearances.

Yes Sir. On my list.

https://www.amazon.com/Cleaning-Exte...window+cleaner

wachuko 10-30-2017 12:34 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Just documenting... finally found some photos of the roof setup for a 2018 AI.... so much for trying to easily accommodate one more solar panel.... if Airstream would have done a better placement of the one in the rear, It would have been easy to add one more there without major modifications.

Trying to do that now will mean removing the existing rear panel and making the space for the 4th one. Will also mean getting a different connector that can combined all four (the one on there does not look like it has additional plug for one more)...

And then there is that wiring coming from what looks like the awning... :sad:

Protagonist 10-30-2017 12:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wachuko (Post 2028239)
Trying to do that now will mean removing the existing rear panel and making the space for the 4th one. Will also mean getting a different connector that can combined all four (the one on there does not look like it has additional plug for one more)...

For flexible panels, you might consider fastening one lengthwise to the top of your A/C shroud. It looks like one panel should fit, as long as the front end of the panel can curve down.

wachuko 10-30-2017 12:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Protagonist (Post 2028247)
For flexible panels, you might consider fastening one lengthwise to the top of your A/C shroud. It looks like one panel should fit, as long as the front end of the panel can curve down.

Or find, if available, low profile roof rack for the back and install both there to avoid doing anything else to the roof....

FlyFishinRVr 10-30-2017 01:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wachuko (Post 2028254)
Or find, if available, low profile roof rack for the back and install both there to avoid doing anything else to the roof....

You would likely need to DIY something because most roof racks, including the one from MB, will interfere with the awning.

wachuko 10-30-2017 05:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FlyFishinRVr (Post 2028271)
You would likely need to DIY something because most roof racks, including the one from MB, will interfere with the awning.

:huh: okay... back to measuring rear area and see if moving the one already there would allow for adding one more.

I would like to stay away from trying to install on a/c cover.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.