Airstream Forums

Airstream Forums (http://www.airforums.com/forums/)
-   Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f37/)
-   -   Breaker Box Upgrade (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f37/breaker-box-upgrade-156657.html)

floridalarry 09-09-2016 01:33 PM

Breaker Box Upgrade
 
4 Attachment(s)
Had issues with the fuse (yes fuse) blowing while running the A/C, so I decided to look at all the electric wiring in my '66. First I opened the junction box where the exterior 30 amp power cord connects to the interior power. Holy crap, the power cable wires were aluminum and both the common and hot wire's insulation was worn off! Lucky to be alive! Replaced the power cord with the SmartPlug system to eliminate having to open the access door each time to fish out the power cord. If you ever need to replace your power cord, I would recommend SmartPlug . . . not cheap, but excellent quality.

Next to the A/C. The breaker box was original with one 30 amp main and one double pole 20 amp and grounded with aluminum wire. When they installed the A/C (original install unknown), rather than replace the box and add a 20 amp breaker for the A/C, they jumped a wire from the main and installed a glass 30 amp glass fuse. I have been told that wasn't unusual in the 70's. When the new A/C was installed in 2010, again the breaker box was not replaced.

The fuse kept heating up and blowing. Replaced the box and added three 20 amp breakers (one for A/C) and a 30 amp main and grounded the box with copper wire. All the other wire in the trailer is copper. So far, everything is working.

Bought the Globe Trotter as being restored. Well, not all was restored. :sad:

HiJoeSilver 09-09-2016 02:58 PM

Glad to see you didn't connect the neutral bar and ground. Is there a ground to the frame in there?
That's a nice size box, where did you get it, what model?
What's the heavy black wire on bottom in a sideways U. Where does it go?
Lucky it wasn't all aluminum!

floridalarry 09-10-2016 06:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HiJoeSilver (Post 1848406)
Glad to see you didn't connect the neutral bar and ground. Is there a ground to the frame in there?
That's a nice size box, where did you get it, what model?
What's the heavy black wire on bottom in a sideways U. Where does it go?
Lucky it wasn't all aluminum!

The box is a Siemens 8 slot, since it can accommodate 4 double pole breakers or 4 single pole. I preferred to have a dedicated breaker for each line. Would have preferred a Square D, but they didn't have a small breaker box.

The black wire connecting the two bridges makes both 110v. The 30 amp breaker serves as the main disconnect. The box could be used as a supplemental box having the main in another box and feeding 110v to the two bridges.

Also, the system is grounded to the frame - lower left-hand corner there is a copper ground to the frame.

youngpeck 09-10-2016 07:15 AM

Just bought one of these:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

and using the illuminated matching breakers

HiJoeSilver 09-10-2016 10:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngpeck (Post 1848601)
Just bought one of these:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

and using the illuminated matching breakers

That's the box I've got except the surface mount version. Just wish it was a little smaller and had a door. I'll fab a cover for it later.

floridalarry 09-11-2016 09:29 AM

2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by HiJoeSilver (Post 1848711)
That's the box I've got except the surface mount version. Just wish it was a little smaller and had a door. I'll fab a cover for it later.

Mine is a surface mount too. Attached a piece of 1/2" oak veneer plywood to the wall with toggle bolts and then mounted box on the plywood. To hid the box from view when you open the closet door, used a 1/4" piece of plywood stained to match the wood and secured it with heavy duty velcro. Easy to open and close.

HiJoeSilver 09-11-2016 01:03 PM

Hadn't thought of running the wires in through the back of the box, I like how clean it makes it. I may have some work to do. Mine is in the closet as well. Planning on making a plexiglass cover just to keep the breakers from getting hit by anything in the closet.

floridalarry 09-12-2016 06:16 AM

Makes sense, since you can see the lighter breakers. Be sure to post some pictures when complete.

floridalarry 09-12-2016 06:20 AM

BTW, since your breakers are indented in the box and you plan to use thin plexiglass to cover just the breakers, you may want to consider using commercial velcro. Makes it easy for removing and replacing the cover.

HiJoeSilver 09-12-2016 04:35 PM

Yep I was thinking Velcro or magnets. It may be a while I'm taking a sabbatical while I decide on a new place to work on the trailer.

cabmike1954 09-18-2016 08:56 PM

Total shell off 1960 22' Flying Cloud
 
Just finished resetting the shell on my 1960 Flying Cloud after a frame an floor rebuild, getting ready for a total re wire, has anyone considered putting the breaker box under the front bench instead of mounting on the wall some where

any thoughts?

HiJoeSilver 09-18-2016 10:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cabmike1954 (Post 1853002)
Just finished resetting the shell on my 1960 Flying Cloud after a frame an floor rebuild, getting ready for a total re wire, has anyone considered putting the breaker box under the front bench instead of mounting on the wall some where

any thoughts?

If you're doing a total retire you can put it anywhere you want. Some things to think about.

All the wires are run between the inner and outer skins so at the end of the runs they will be coming out through the inner skin somewhere so you'll want to mount the box somewhere up against or close to the skin.

Think about how you will have to route wires to get them there.

Where will your shore power connection be and how will you run wire from there to the breaker box.

Personally I think it would be best to not have it incorporated directly into another structure so that if you have to remove said structure you don't have to disconnect wires. You can put it under a bench but I'd make sure it was independent of the bench.

Put it somewhere easy to get to for access, repairs, operation.

If you use a panel that incorporates 120vac and 12vdc in one consider the routing for both wire sets. As well as location relative to the battery.

Lots of options and possibilities.

lewster 09-18-2016 11:22 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Something like this might be of interest. :brows:

cabmike1954 09-22-2016 06:08 PM

looks interesting!!! Tell me about it


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.