Airstream Forums

Airstream Forums (http://www.airforums.com/forums/)
-   Our Community (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f48/)
-   -   Is there such thing as a 1958 Bubble? (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f48/is-there-such-thing-as-a-1958-bubble-13004.html)

58BUBBLE 07-29-2004 11:50 AM

Is there such thing as a 1958 Bubble?

I'm new to the Airstream community and this site. I just aquired my airstream and am confused about the year and model. The layout is identicle to a 1957 California Bubble but on my title it is listed as a 1958 and the model says unknown. I cannot find anywhere that the Bubble was made in 1958. Can anyone out there shed some light on this? Is it possible my title is wrong? Any info is much appreciated!

RivetED 07-29-2004 11:59 AM

There are VAC (Vintage Airstream Club) members that can be of great assistance to you. You might try contacting them although many forums members are also VAC's.

rluhr 07-29-2004 12:04 PM

I would not regard a title as a reliable indicator of the year of manufacture. Often vintage Airstreams were titled as the year they were sold, or sometimes just based on a guess by somebody. My 1968 was titled as a 1967, for example. The serial number is the best method for most units, if you've got one.

roger n cindy 07-29-2004 03:36 PM

go to vintageairstream.com and look around. we have a 57 bubble which is supposed to be the third and last year. rluhr is right about titles as some states i believe titled the trailer as the year there were sold. check your serial #.

roger n cindy

GStephens 07-29-2004 05:12 PM

I checked the following site: http://www.vintageairstream.com/archives/index.html which is the vintageairstream.com site.