Airstream Forums

Airstream Forums (http://www.airforums.com/forums/)
-   Windows, Doors, Locks & Vents (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f164/)
-   -   locked rear ext compartment door (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f164/locked-rear-ext-compartment-door-123939.html)

ecasebeer 08-13-2014 09:38 PM

locked rear ext compartment door

Hello All,

I am new to the Airstream world, and am turning a 1968 Overlander into basically a tiny house. I'm at the point where I'm re-sealing all the windows and discovering how everything works. Unfortunately I don't have the key to the rear exterior compartment and it's locked. I live in a rural area and would rather figure out how to do this on my own (so as to avoid the cost of a locksmith driving all the way out here). Any tips on getting this lock opened? The "line" at my local hardware store is that "I need a locksmith because they can't tell me how to break into my own trailer."

Also, advice on what to use to re-seal leaky areas..... I've been told silicone, but then I've also read not to use silicone and go with a polyurethane. Thoughts?

Thanks for the help! Apologies if this info exists already somewhere on this forum. I just couldn't wade through all the posts.

Melody Ranch 08-13-2014 09:43 PM

1 Attachment(s)
If you can see the inside of the compartment door....or just feel it....use a small (short) phillips screwdriver on the screw holding the lock lever on. Remove the screw and lever, the door will fall open. Replace the lock with one you can get for a few dollars. I would not get it at the same hardware store which would not help you with this simple fix.

Protagonist 08-14-2014 05:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Melody Ranch (Post 1495948)