Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-13-2017, 09:11 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1976 31' Sovereign
Helotes , Texas
Total weight and distribution

As a newbie, I have been pouring over the previous threads on AS restorations. I have also seen numerous Internet posts on designs implemented for total gut jobs. What surprises me is that I have not seen anyone discussing the weight implications for these designs.

I think too many people are focusing on how it looks and not how their designs are affecting the stability of the AS. I see people using 2x4s for interior walls. That seems crazy to me! You use up too much space and add too much weight. Steel 2x4s don't add as much weight, but still take up too much space.
After just having gutted my '76 31' Sovereign, I can see how AS saved on weight using plastic and flimsy steel parts. Using 3/4" plywood constructions to replace the original construction...well you can see how weight will add up quickly.

I understand some of these people never intend to tow their AS and park it somewhere to use as an extra bedroom.

Does anyone know of a good reference or list of guidelines for weight considerations for the design of a remodel? Not just the total weight, but how it is distributed within? How it might affect the tongue weight or side-to-side stability?
glrtex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 09:43 AM   #2
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else