Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-28-2015, 03:50 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1973 25' Tradewind
Rapid City , South Dakota
Subfloor questions!

Hey everyone! I am brand new to Airstreams and just recently purchased a 1975 Land Yatch 26ft. It is Mostly original and in pretty good shape. The Old guy who had it before me used ducting tape to cover all the windows and any place that could leak so I have lots of adhesive to remove. It had carpet throughout so I pulled it to see if there was any water damage. The Pictures below show the areas with rot. My Question is what is the Process to replace the front piece of the subfloor. There is also a bunch of adhesive I assume from when they pulled the original flooring. It is in the pictures as well. Can i sand the glue crap so salvage the majority of the floor? Looking for some opinions on what I should do with the subfloor.
sdAir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 03:56 PM   #2
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Mission , Texas
Welcome!
Photos didn't survive the posting.
When curious about a given AS topic I've found using Google works well. There are lots of floor and sub-floor replacement threads - partial and total.
Not sure I would sand the glue on the plywood as it's likely to have asbestos in it, same with the original floor tiles. If it's not rotten, I'd seal it with varathane. If it's rotten of course replace.
nrgtrakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 04:27 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

1973 25' Tradewind
Working on getting the photos. I have researched a fair amount and everything seems to be just a partial explanation on how to replace the floor.

Old 08-28-2015, 04:37 PM   #4
1 Rivet Member

1973 25' Tradewind
[/URL][/IMG]

[/URL][/IMG]

Old 08-28-2015, 04:49 PM   #5
1 Rivet Member

1973 25' Tradewind
[/URL][/IMG]

[/URL][/IMG]

[/URL][/IMG]
Old 08-28-2015, 07:31 PM   #6
Rivet Master