Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-24-2005, 07:49 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1992 34' Limited
Falls Church , Virginia
SMOKE! Yikes!! Help!

Hello All -

Went to the local trailer place and got a 'dog bone' to get the "new to me" trailer hooked up in the driveway for a shakedown. Plugged everything in(30amp) and for about 30 seconds everything worked. Microwave clock, radio display - then, sniff?

YIKES - acrid smoke from the NEW InteliPower 9100. Everything went off. Ran like the wind to get the 30amp disconnected. Vented everything - InteliPower stank up the joint, but NO flames - whew!

BTW - just charged up batteries and they seem to be doing fine. Interior lights and all that. No Micro clock though. ??

Now, as I am new to this - What happened. Did I fry the IP9100? Why did it do that? Where am I going wrong here? Unplugged it from the internal wall plug so nothing further should go on. What now?

Sorry for the seemingly idiotic question but the whole 120/12volt interface is like greek to me. Why do I get lights but not micro?

Thanks in advance for the tutorial!

Ciao

Axel
SilverToy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 08:20 PM   #2
Rivet Master

Elgin , Texas
What 30 amp service did you plug into? Was it the dryer outlet?

Reason I ask is because of Brett G's advice in this thread.

Hope you didn't fry the converter. If it is new and previously untested by you with 120v service it could be miswired. If it had worked fine before plugging it in this time, then I'd have to wonder about what you plugged it in to. Pick up a 15 amp adapter so that you can plug in and check everything except the A/C. You can also see if the converter still smokes or was destroyed.

bake315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 08:59 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1977 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
1964 26' Overlander
1977 25' Tradewind
Eastern , Washington
Quote: