Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-09-2016, 08:22 AM   #1

Red Wing , Minnesota
Restore 22ft Safari?

New to the forum and to the Airstream community. Looking at a 1968 Airstream 22ft Safari for restoration with an asking price of $3500. Have not seen it yet, but the owner description is that the interior has been removed and flooring replaced except for bathroom. Frame is solid and very clean. Plexiglass in place for a few windows but has glass replacements. What should I look for in terms of problems and issues that would make for a difficult restoration? I have zero experience in Airstream restoration but have done home remodeling, vehicle maintenance and repair, have a large heated shop with attached woodshop and I'm retired. End game is having a custom unique camper for the wife and I to use. Looking for thoughts, concerns, advice and if this is a project worth the undertaking. Looking forward to reading the posts.
Zestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 08:43 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
Price sound OK. The big question for me is when you say the flooring has been replaced is this the subfloor or just the surface. I would be suspicious of new flooring applied over a bad subfloor to hide a problem to get a sale. Does the PO have photos of the old floor?
Old 07-18-2016, 07:51 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

1966 24' Tradewind
versailles , Kentucky