Old 03-26-2012, 09:06 AM   #1
HCO
1 Rivet Member

1976 27' Overlander
Edson , Alberta
Redesign help

I have recently purchased a 76 overlander with water damage in the kitchen. My plan is to strip it down barebones, insulate it, put in hardwood floors, move the bathroom to the front and add a master bedroom at the back along with new appliances throughout. Is that possible? Or logical? Are there any major complications I might be over looking? Also, where to start, I am completely new to airstream (and to forums) if I just start tearing stuff out will the shell collapse?... I am treading overwhelming new ground for myself

Old 03-26-2012, 09:20 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
The relocation of the bath to the front would require some major plumbing mods. Keep in mind that the toilet dumps directly into the black holding tank in most cases. Locating a holding tank that is large enough in the front would be a challenge.
One other consideration. Why would you want the bath room on the opposite end of the coach from the berthing area? Where would the galley and dinette area be located in your plan.
I would think this project would require a shell off situation and perhaps a whole new frame to accomplish the task. If you have not experienced working on an A$, the learning curve and the cost would be extensive.

Old 03-26-2012, 09:30 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
The shell will not collapse if you gut the interior.
Along with the plumbing mods. Have you considered the electrical and propane line modifications that would be required?
Installing all new appliances is a very expensive proposition. The refer alone will set you back over a grand. When you include the galley stove and sink etc you are looking at another grand.