Old 07-09-2016, 06:59 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1977 Argosy 22
Duxbury , Massachusetts
Interior wall sugeestions

I am renovating a 1980 Argosy 22'. I want to remove all the interior walls and put up something nicer. It is showing its age. I am completely new to this. Can someone advise on best way to remove interior walls with all the rivets? Should drill the rivets out or is there a better way?

Old 07-12-2016, 07:50 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1975 Argosy 28
Springville , Alabama
No better way than to drill out rivets.

Old 07-12-2016, 07:59 PM   #3
Rivet Master

What's your game plan.

Are you going to be using it, or waiting until the renovation is complete.

Anyway…If you are going to be taking out the interior skins, I suggest you think about insulation, just in case there is mold or the smell of mice.
Old 07-12-2016, 09:23 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1974 31' Sovereign
1979 23' Safari
Wayland , New York
If you're talking about the interior skin, then you have to drill out all the rivets. You pretty much have to replace the interior skin with metal for structural reasons. If they're just looking tired try repainting them.

If you're talking about the interior partition walls. That's a totally different story.
Old 07-12-2016, 10:40 PM   #5
4 Rivet Member

1972 Argosy 20
Snoqualmie , Washington
Based solely on what I've read over the past couple of years, I don't think it's a good idea to remove the interior skin and replace it with "something else". I think HiJoe is right, it's a structural thing.
You could reach out to Colin Hyde and ask his opinion.
Old 07-13-2016, 04:31 PM   #6
1 Rivet Member

1977 Argosy 22
Duxbury , Massachusetts