Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-27-2017, 08:36 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Hockessin , Delaware
Restoration Questions along the way

Hi all super newbie here with a big dream. Brought 1973 overlander about 1 month ago. I have been pulling it apart here and there due to time constraints. The trailer is parked in Delaware. I want to do a complete overhaul down to the insulation. So far the trailer is seems pretty sound in the way of rotting sub floor. I have found a leak near the front wear the sofa was. I noticed a puddle of water on the floor once I pulled the sofa out. I also noticed a puddle of water at the door entrance on the floor.
Anyway come to you all for help finding someone to guide me and help with the major repairs, ie electrical, plumbing and heating/AC. I have been reading through the posts and blogs here and have no clue where to start. I am a nurse by career and am inspired by you all doing things yourself. Im pretty overwhelmed. If anyone knows how to go about finding the help I need please reach out. I need to complete this things Like yesterday. My plan is to live here with my children while giving the lifes experience.
I need to change out the furnace and hot water heater, update the plumbing and add some appliances.

Please Help
HeyGorgeous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 08:51 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 27' Overlander
Baltimore , Maryland
Welcome.

An overhaul like the one you're describing typically takes a year or more. You may need to alter your plans if that's not soon enough. It can be done more quickly of you don't have a day job, but it sounds like you do. What sort of help are you looking for? Do you have the resources to pay someone to do the work for you? Are you just looking for direction so you can do it yourself?
TheGreatleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 09:24 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1971 25' Tradewind