Old 08-11-2006, 11:22 AM   #1
1972 31' Sovereign
wakefield , Massachusetts
Unhappy help '72 31ft Sovereign

First please excuse me I am new to this and hope this is okay. We (my husband, 10 year old son and myself) just bought 1972 a/s it is on a camping site and we will probably never take it on the road. P/O told us of a few minor problems, looked like all it needed was a good cleaning. We thought we could handle the repairs. We were wrong. Pulled up rug found holes in floor, all the copper pipes are no good, vista? windows leak and have gray chaulking hanging in between the windows, and forget about the mice that keep getting in somehow. Paid a plumber $300. to fix pipes that burst again from water pressure, water coming from back of toilet and hot water heater. We want to fix the leaking windows, and replace the floor with the shell on a little at a time, working front to back, and replace copper with pex. I have been looking at the forums for a month and have become very confused. Any suggestions, help, wisdoms would be helpful. I have bought the service manual from A/S, window "stuff" from Inland? and the pex replacement pipes. We are not very handy and are beginning to think we have bitten off more then we can chew.HELP....

cjackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 12:24 PM   #2
Rivet Master
1973 31' Sovereign
Danielsville , Georgia
If you're not very handy, you probably have bitten off more than you can chew.

Not to try to discourage you, but you're probably looking at the tip of the iceberg. What you have is certainly restorable, but it won't be quick and it won't be cheap. (Although if you learn to be handy, you'll save quite a bit in labor.)

If it were me, I would remove all of inside from the axles back, exposing the entire floor. The water heater is probably not worth keeping, as are any of the other appliances if they're original (unless they've been meticulously cared for). (Furnace, fridge, water heater=$2000 +)