Old 01-11-2015, 07:51 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
Currently Looking...
Honolulu , Hawaii
Complete Overhaul

I am very new to the Airstream world but love the trailers and have a vision that I am trying to turn into a reality!

Currently I am located in Honolulu, HI but am relocating to California's Bay Area while I search for the perfect Airstream to purchase, remodel and then take on the road.

My vision is to purchase a late model (70's or newer, 28' or longer) airstream sometime in late May early June and remodel it over the next 2-3 months. The end goal being to use it for the next year my girl friend and I take it along the Cali coast promoting and selling her new bikini line. During the same time, I will be competing in various surf contests and want to build the Airstream to be like our own beach cottage.

I am proficient in carpentry, drywall, flooring, electrical (some), pluming (less), and cabinetry.

I want to hear from others what their thoughts on about taking on a project like this and some of their experiences. I have been looking online for material and books about remodeling Airstreams but have not found exactly what I was looking for... Is most the work custom that needs to be done to modernize late models? Do later models need to have their electrical and pluming redone?
There was a bunch of posts about leaks and fixing rotten flooring... are exterior leaks a big issue?
Lastly, how easy/hard is it to get OEM (or after market) parts?

Thank you for your help and am very excited to get to work on this dream!

Steve H.

FlipFlopHI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 07:57 PM   #2

2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
Greetings from the Florida Panhandle

Welcome to the Forums. We're glad to have you with us. Good luck in your quest.

SuEllyn & Brian McCabe
WBCCI #3628 -- AIR #14872 -- TAC #FL-7
2015 FC 25' FB (Lucy) with HAHA