Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-27-2003, 08:32 PM   #1

Smile Architecture student wants to find out more about Airstream construction

Hi All,
I am an architecture student in Toronto, Canada. Owning an airstream would be a dream for me.

I am currently working on a project and have selected to study the construction of the Airstream camper. I am trying to find out more specific information on the construction of it. I have visited the airstream website and read through the factory tour portion where they describe the process of building an airstream. What I am looking for is more nuts and bolts details.

Here's couple things I am looking for and hopefully you can help me out on my research.
1. the size of the steel structural memeber on the inside. I think there are 3 different sizes, one is the main frame, one is the ones going horizontally and the ones for the chasis/floor
2. what shapes are those structural members (u channel, c channel, square section?? etc?)
3. how is the actual skin rivet onto the frame? is it what you see on the outside of the skin is where they rivet onto the fram on the inside??
4. the curve of the airstream. I read somewhere that the curve had stayed the same since the very beginning. what is the radius of it and why that particula radius??

That's couple things I can think of right now. Also if there are pictures of the airstream being gutted, that would be great too if I can use it for my project.

Thank you very much for your help
Oreo
Oreo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2003, 09:27 PM   #2
Rivet Master

, Minnesota
Architecture

First the frame
This is a 1959 model 24' Tradewind.