Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2018, 07:59 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 22' Sport
2018 26' Flying Cloud
Brighton , Michigan
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 75
TST TPMS Repeater Wiring

Going from a single axel (2 sensors) with no need for the TST TPMS repeater, to a 26 RBT that will have 4 sensors and 2 axels, so will be getting the repeater with 2 additional sensors.

Question for the many of you that use this system is how/where to you mount the repeater?

Second question is how do you wire it to the battery(s), also going from 1 acid battery to 2 glass matt batteries?

Last question, if left hot with no shut-off switch, will it drain the batteries any worse than the propane detector? Does the repeater have a sleep mode that it goes into after a period of no activity?

Thanks in advance for your insights and expertise.
__________________

Rivet Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 08:31 PM   #2
Prairie Schooner II
 
Jim Flower's Avatar

 
2012 30' International
1997 25' Safari
1967 20' Globetrotter
Burlington , Ontario
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,288
I have a Tire Minder system complete with a booster. I mounted the booster in the battery box and wired it directly to the battery so it does draw constantly but I also have a solar system that is on all the time so it does not have any negative impact on the batteries. You can wire yours to a hot wire that is controlled by the main battery switch and avoid the drain issue. The Tire Minder System has not been trouble free and is actually a pain because something is always going wrong from bad sensors to a bad main monitor. I would now not recommend the system although I sure found it helpful when it was working. Booster has been flawless. Jim
__________________

__________________
Jim
Jim Flower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 09:17 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

 
2016 26' Flying Cloud
Southlake , Texas
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 353
I mounted mine on the battery box and hooked directly to battery. I am always either on shore power or towing so battery drain is not an issue.
I also have TST and it would work without repeater unless I had my Garmin RV 760 on the dash and it would keep the TST from getting a signal to the monitor. No problem after installing the booster.
__________________
2016 Flying Cloud 26u
2017 Silverado Duramax 4x4
Equalizer Hitch
Southlake, TX
WBCCI
Bgibbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 09:20 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
AWCHIEF's Avatar
 
2006 23' Safari SE
Biloxi , Mississippi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,281
Images: 33
I mounted my rear camera repeater and TST repeater in the battery box. Hot wired directly.
__________________
MICHAEL

Do you know what a learning experience is? A learning experience is one of those things that says "You know that thing that you just did? Don't do that."
AWCHIEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 09:35 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
SSquared's Avatar
 
2013 25' FB Flying Cloud
Longmont , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 614
I tow with an SUV. I tucked the repeater under the edge of the headliner next to the rear window. I power it from an already-present 12V power outlet, and plug/unplug it manually.

I have a 25FB and I found that the TST 507 external units on my trailer are detected by the receiver even without using the repeater. I use the repeater anyway because I already have it.
SSquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 10:12 AM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
jamieb1086's Avatar

 
2016 25' Flying Cloud
Selbyville , Delaware
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 111
I have a 25' flying cloud with a TST system without a repeater and it works fine. You might want to try using it without the repeater first and if it works ok you can save yourself the trouble of hard wiring the repeater to the battery.
__________________
Jamie
2016 25' RBT Flying Cloud "Bullseye"
2016 Chevy 2500 High Country Duramax Diesel "Red Bull"
WBCCI #9026 Watchung NJ Unit
jamieb1086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 10:36 AM   #7
3 Rivet Member
 
gsmithii's Avatar
 
2013 30' Flying Cloud
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 148
TST Repeater

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivet Rocket View Post
Going from a single axel (2 sensors) with no need for the TST TPMS repeater, to a 26 RBT that will have 4 sensors and 2 axels, so will be getting the repeater with 2 additional sensors.

Question for the many of you that use this system is how/where to you mount the repeater?

Second question is how do you wire it to the battery(s), also going from 1 acid battery to 2 glass matt batteries?

Last question, if left hot with no shut-off switch, will it drain the batteries any worse than the propane detector? Does the repeater have a sleep mode that it goes into after a period of no activity?

Thanks in advance for your insights and expertise.
Although you didnít ask this question - we found that a repeater was unnecessary for our FC 30.
gsmithii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 11:20 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
Mollysdad's Avatar
 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,866
First I'd try it without the repeater.
Then you have a couple options. Mount it on the trailer or on the TV. How about outside the propane cover, or in the back window of the truck?
I'd make a way to disconnect it so it does not drain the batteries.
Mollysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 11:51 AM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
Silverbee's Avatar
 
2015 28' Flying Cloud
2012 25' Flying Cloud
2007 20' Safari SE
Fuquay Varina , North Carolina
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 417
TST Repeater Mount

Here is how I mounted mine-have the new color monitor-great TPMS from TST.
Easy process.
Inside the Propane cover with velcro.
Wrapped the wires around the tank holder in case the velcro failed(unlikely but you never know).
Wires out from bottom of the propane cover and through the hole already there in the battery compartment.
Attached small battery clamps bought at auto supply store.
Easy to attach/detach if worried about battery drain.
Works great.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TST repeater 1.JPG
Views:	63
Size:	80.0 KB
ID:	305820   Click image for larger version

Name:	TST repeater 2.JPG
Views:	70
Size:	141.0 KB
ID:	305821  

Silverbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 02:42 PM   #10
rvb
4 Rivet Member
 
rvb's Avatar
 
1977 Argosy 28
Euless , Texas
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 320
When we bought our TST it would drop one or more tires right at about 50 miles into the drive but not in a pattern and it did it on both trailers. I sent it back to be checked out and they replaced the head unit. I've been on several trips in the 28' since then and it has worked perfectly each time without a repeater. It now will pick up both trailers when parked and the Minuet is over 100' away in the back yard.

I have several friends who have them on larger Airstreams without a repeater and they work fine. Try would it first without and see if it works before you go to the trouble of installing one.
__________________
Past President, Vintage Airstream Club, WBCCI # 7291
1977 Argosy 28 Center Bath, 1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0
2013 Toyota Tundra, Ford F250 6.7 diesel

rvb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 06:15 PM   #11
2 Rivet Member
Commercial Member
 
Currently Looking...
Cumming , Georgia
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 54
Blog Entries: 1
TST TPMS Repeater

Hi All,

Thank you for all the great responses. I would wire the repeater right to the battery in the front of the trailer, Red Wire goes to positive, Black is Negative. Some use alligator clips, other wire directly to battery. Either is fine. Once the repeater has power it will glow red, and flash occasionally. The repeater has an in-line fuse, and draw is very low(a few milli-amps). Once connected just close up the battery box, and no need to worry about it.

As always if anyone has any questions I am always available at 210-420-0132

Thank you!!

Mike Benson
210-420-0132

PS: Our new Full Color Wide Screen Display is becoming very popular in the Industry, it does work with all existing 507 sensors.
mbenson1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 06:29 PM   #12
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 22' Sport
2018 26' Flying Cloud
Brighton , Michigan
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 75
As the OP thanks to all that responded, great ideas and solutions.

My 22 FB had the exact conditions that RVB listed and I figured it was dropping the signal with no repeater. Therefore the decision to buy the repeater for the 26 RBT.

Will try with the repeater in case it is a defective head unit, signal will still drop after a short drive and I can contact TST.

Good to see that the National Sales Manager for TST reads these threads, they make a great product and care about their customers.
Rivet Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 06:35 PM   #13
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 22' Sport
2018 26' Flying Cloud
Brighton , Michigan
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbenson1234 View Post
Hi All,

Thank you for all the great responses. I would wire the repeater right to the battery in the front of the trailer, Red Wire goes to positive, Black is Negative. Some use alligator clips, other wire directly to battery. Either is fine. Once the repeater has power it will glow red, and flash occasionally. The repeater has an in-line fuse, and draw is very low(a few milli-amps). Once connected just close up the battery box, and no need to worry about it.

As always if anyone has any questions I am always available at 210-420-0132

Thank you!!

Mike Benson
210-420-0132

PS: Our new Full Color Wide Screen Display is becoming very popular in the Industry, it does work with all existing 507 sensors.
As the OP I was pleased to see you post. Ordered the additional parts from Peggy in your office yesterday. Shipping confirmation today and she also sent a PDF of instructions as she promised. Well done, excellent service.
Rivet Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 09:58 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
2019 30' Flying Cloud
Homosassa , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 505
Repeater Location

I mounted ours on the power jack and ran the wires under the frame and got power from the same wire the power jack is getting power from. Make sure you install a fuse in the line. Lots of places for ground wire to attach using existing bolts.
__________________

Tater is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TST 507 TPMS Repeater Question Ridgerunner3 Tires 12 12-29-2016 01:23 PM
Tire Minder or TST TPMS for 30' FC Beach Bum Tires 8 02-05-2015 01:25 AM
Voyager interferes with TST TPMS SteveSueMac Lights - Interior & Exterior 11 12-09-2014 09:03 AM
Tst tpms SilverEagle6 Tires 6 08-09-2014 07:22 AM
TST TPMS fit and repeater SteveSueMac Tires 6 08-17-2013 01:29 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.