Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Flying Cloud > 2016 - Current Flying Cloud
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-10-2018, 12:30 PM   #21
3 Rivet Member

2016 28' International
2015 28' International
2013 28' International
Las Vegas , Nevada
I have been a mechanic all of my life and have several Snap-On torque wrenches, click and digital. The preceding posters are correct, all you need is "A" torque wrench, "you are not rebuilding aluminum block engines with extremely small tolerances", all you are doing is making sure that your lug nuts are not too tight, using the cheaper torque wrenches that are properly maintained (unsprung when not in use) is completely fine.

Snap-On torque wrench $300-$1500, HB torque wrench $20.

The importance of using a torque wrench is to achieve the designed tightness of the fastener as directed by the manufacturer. It's use is mainly to prevent over tightening, all of us are guilty of this at least once in our lives.

Happy Airstreaming!
vintagemotor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 12:34 PM   #22
3 Rivet Member

2016 28' International
2015 28' International
2013 28' International
Las Vegas , Nevada
Quote:
Originally Posted by FCStreamer View Post
I just faced the same question, but I needed 300 lbs for the bolts on my hitch.

After seeing different models, I decided to get a Ryobi impact wrench. I already own several Ryobi tools so I didn’t need to but the batteries. Cost me $100.

I saw “torque limiting” extensions, which is what I plan to use for changing my wheels when the time comes.
I have used these devices over the years and they do not work the same, okay for a tire shop, but not recommended for regular use (they require an air impact driver be used, so no go on the highway.