Old 01-30-2017, 09:08 AM   #1
The "RV Advocate"

2017 25' Flying Cloud
2018 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Miramar Beach , Florida
Newbie Towing Capacity Question

I am new to pulling a trailer. So my question is matching Trailer to tow vehicle. The stats are below and my hope is confirmation I am OK or I screwed up:
Tow Vehicle: 2016 Toyota Sequoia Limited Two Wheel Drive
Maximum payload
1315 lbs.
Maximum towing capacity
7100 lbs.

Airstream Flying Cloud 25 Twin
Hitch Weight (w/ LP & Batteries) (lbs.)
Unit Base Weight (w/ LP & Batteries) (lbs.)
Maximum Trailer Capacity (GVWR) (lbs.)
Net Carrying Capacity (NCC=GVWR-UBW) (lbs.)

Added to the setup:
Blue Ox BXW1000 SWAYPRO Weight Distributing Hitch
Tekonsha Prodigy P3 Trailer Brake Controller - 1 to 4 Axles - Proportional

Old 01-30-2017, 02:52 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE
Lexington , Kentucky
The hitch weight seems low, if it includes batteries and propane. My owners manual for the 2006 says 720-860 lbs. dry weight (no batteries or propane) for the three 25'11" models. What is the maximum tongue weight on the Sequoia?

I have a 2004 4Runner and my limits are very close to what you have in the Sequoia. The GVWR on my 23' AS is 6,000 lbs. and my towing capacity is 7,000 but the maximum trailer weight is 5,710. My maximum tongue weight is 700 lbs. and my 23' tongue weight is 600 lbs. (dry). Maximum payload is 1,195. I also have the Prodigy P3 controller.

That said, my 4Runner handles just fine, no problems since we started towing in 02/2014. I know if I want to go up to a larger AS it means we need to get a new TV. It's just 2 of us traveling and we put just the bulky stuff in the TV, like life jackets, kayak paddles, some clothes and that's about it. The AS is kept as light as possible, no water or soft drinks on the trip, get 'em when we get there.