Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Flying Cloud > 2016 - Current Flying Cloud
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-19-2017, 06:27 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2016 26' Flying Cloud
Oxford Mills , Ontario
AC and convection microwave on same breaker ?

To start with I have little knowledge of electrical systems or generators .

We were in Dover DE this past week and in need of our AC. Started our champion dual fuel generator ( tested at home in May , worked fine with AC for an hour before I turned it off )
After attaching the cord to our AS the generator sounded stressed like it was taking on a load , nothing was on except for the water pump, the microwave power comes on when we attach the cord, turned the dometic on to cool setting , after 15secs or so the AC turned on and then overpowered the generator and sent an E7 message to the domestic control panel.
I did get it to work twice by turning the breaker off then plugging in the generator , then flipping the breaker on again .
Figured out both AC and micro are on the same breaker. We never use the micro (invection)anyway and was wondering if the microwave is hard wired or plugged in behind ?
I know champion is not the generator of choice in these forums , but at 3400 it should have no issues keeping A 15k AC unit running on a 2016 - 26U.
Crazycanucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 06:51 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2017 23' Flying Cloud
Bartlett , Tennessee
Were your batteries low causing the converter to pull a lot of current?
Was your water heater on electric pulling a lot of current?
Was your refrigerator on electric pulling a lot of current?

Except for the converter, which you can't help, everything else should be on propane only if you are powering by generator.