Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2019, 12:48 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
mikeinca's Avatar
 
2018 30' Classic
Santa Rosa , California
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 426
Which AC is which?

I have a 40 AMP circuit in my garage that I'd like to use to run the AC on our 2018 30' RB Twin Classic when it's in "port". I realize that I shouldn't run both AC units at the same time on 40 AMPS but I'd like to run the larger 15,000 BTU unit. On my trailer, which AC is 15K BTU and which is 13.5K? It seems like it would be useful to know in any event.

Maybe the answer is out there already but I've done a search and haven't been able to find a definitive one. I'd rather not climb on the roof to find out if I don't have to.
__________________

__________________
“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.”
― Neil deGrasse Tyson

2018 30' Classic Twin
2017 F250 4x4 6.7 max tow Platinum
200W portable solar
240Ah LifePo4 upgrade
mikeinca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2019, 12:53 PM   #2
Rivet Master

 
2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6,541
Which AC is which?

Most air conditioners have a nameplate accessible behind the vent grill that would give the data you need.
__________________

__________________
Rich, KE4GNK/AE, Overkill Engineering Dept.
'The Silver HamShack' ('07 International 22FB CCD 75th Anniversary)
Multiple Yaesu Ham Radios inside and many antennae sprouting from roof, ProPride hitch, Prodigy P2 controller.
2012 shortbed CrewMax 4x4 Toyota Tacoma TV with more antennae on it.
rmkrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2019, 02:05 PM   #3
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 6,414
Hi

You can safely run either AC unit on a 30A hookup at a campsite. Their current draw and performance are so close as to pretty much not matter. In fact, if you *happen* to ... errrr...run a controlled experiment , it turns out you can run *both* AC's on a 30A hookup. Don't ask how I found this out .....

I believe the "typical" configuration is to put the larger unit over the living area and the smaller over the sleeping section. It's AS, so trust very little, and verify everything .

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2019, 02:54 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member
 
mikeinca's Avatar
 
2018 30' Classic
Santa Rosa , California
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmkrum View Post
Most air conditioners have a nameplate accessible behind the vent grill that would give the data you need.
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle_bob View Post

I believe the "typical" configuration is to put the larger unit over the living area and the smaller over the sleeping section. It's AS, so trust very little, and verify everything .

Bob

Bingo! You were both correct. I found the tags with a flashlight and removed the grills so I could read them. The larger 15K BTU unit is indeed over the living area at the front with a 13.5K unit at the rear....on my AS Classic at least!

Thanks!
__________________
“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.”
― Neil deGrasse Tyson

2018 30' Classic Twin
2017 F250 4x4 6.7 max tow Platinum
200W portable solar
240Ah LifePo4 upgrade
mikeinca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2019, 03:48 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
2018 28' International
Fayetteville , Georgia
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 516
On my Serenity 28, the front (living) area is the larger 15K unit, and is # 2 on the thermostat. The rear (bedroom) is the 13.5K unit, and is # 1 on the thermostat.
You will not run two A/C’s on a 30 amp plug for long...
__________________
brick
2018 International Serenity
Cute wife...
brick1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 06:26 AM   #6
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 6,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by brick1 View Post
.....
You will not run two A/C’s on a 30 amp plug for long...
Hi

You can do it for longer than you might think ..... (hours).

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 06:55 AM   #7
Aluminut
 
Silvertwinkie's Avatar
 
2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10,456
You can run both with a 30a, but be advised that there **is** the **possibility** that long term damage (read years) could prematurely reduce the life of the compressors if they cycle at the same time. I mean if you are running both A/C units in your garage, you are prob either in the trailer with other things turned on, or you have more on than just the A/C unit(s) on in general (fridge may come to mind, TV or stereo too). There is a reason they put 50a on the rig and if it were my rig, I would run one or the other if I was connected to a 30a. 40a, I've never seen, only 30 and 50, so could your 40 be a 30? If so, that's my advice. If your 40 is a 50, then you can run it all day long so long as the power supplier and circuit are providing ample power (no brownouts or surges).


If your garage already has a 30, 50 is not a major jump in cable gauge size and breaker. There are calculators on-line that can easily tell you if the cable in your garage setup is aqueduct for the length of the cable run (30 or 50a). This is a major variable that can't easily be given a thumbs up or down on on a forum without knowing the cabling infrastructure. I went through this excercise about 7 years ago when putting in an EV charger for my car. Power decreases with distance, requiring larger cable.


This is a fair one I've used in the past:


https://www.electricaltechnology.org...alculator.html
__________________
Computers manufactured by companies such as IBM, Compaq and millions of others are by far the most popular with about 70 million machines in use worldwide. Macintosh fans note that cockroaches are far more numerous than humans and that numbers alone do not denote a higher life form. -NY Times 11/91
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 08:34 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
Mollysdad's Avatar
 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeinca View Post
On my trailer, which AC is 15K BTU and which is 13.5K? It seems like it would be useful to know in any event.
Living area is 15 and bedroom is 13.5
Mollysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 08:20 PM   #9
"Space A" S/O Registry 11
 
2006 34' Classic S/O
Fort Worth , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 847
If you want to run both A/Cs at the same time on a regular basis you need MicroAir's SoftStarts on them. You would be amazed at how this computerized start/run system really improves the situation. Low amperage starts, no more jolting to a stop and smooth quiet running. Plus much longer motor life. I'm on my 15th season with no trouble yet.
guskmg
guskmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 08:03 AM   #10
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 6,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silvertwinkie View Post
You can run both with a 30a, but be advised that there **is** the **possibility** that long term damage (read years) could prematurely reduce the life of the compressors if they cycle at the same time. I mean if you are running both A/C units in your garage, you are prob either in the trailer with other things turned on, or you have more on than just the A/C unit(s) on in general (fridge may come to mind, TV or stereo too). There is a reason they put 50a on the rig and if it were my rig, I would run one or the other if I was connected to a 30a. 40a, I've never seen, only 30 and 50, so could your 40 be a 30? If so, that's my advice. If your 40 is a 50, then you can run it all day long so long as the power supplier and circuit are providing ample power (no brownouts or surges).


If your garage already has a 30, 50 is not a major jump in cable gauge size and breaker. There are calculators on-line that can easily tell you if the cable in your garage setup is aqueduct for the length of the cable run (30 or 50a). This is a major variable that can't easily be given a thumbs up or down on on a forum without knowing the cabling infrastructure. I went through this excercise about 7 years ago when putting in an EV charger for my car. Power decreases with distance, requiring larger cable.


This is a fair one I've used in the past:


https://www.electricaltechnology.org...alculator.html
Hi

I'm by no means suggesting that running them both on 30A is a good idea. It's not a good idea. The point is that you *can* do it if the one who plugs in the trailer does not keep track of what the one who turns on the A/C's is doing ....

Bob
__________________

uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Univolt internals - which fuse is which? barts Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 9 08-13-2017 09:18 AM
Heating and Air Cond. - Which wires are which? trekerboy Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 12 08-09-2015 08:37 AM
Dump Valves Which is back and which is grey? clicker187 Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes 7 01-16-2013 08:15 PM
Which tank is which? dejahardy13 Fresh Water Systems 8 09-24-2010 09:23 PM
Which switch is which or what 74Sovereign Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 6 09-10-2002 08:55 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.