Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2019, 08:10 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 30' Classic
Anywhere , Alabama
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 90
AC Turned On-Donít Know Why

Had a weird on last night. 2017 Classic, 2 ACís controlled by one thermostat. Had the AC for both zones in Cool mode (not auto), fan in Auto, temps set at 73. At 1:30 am, with outside temps in low 30ís, rear AC turns on. Checked thermostat and everything looked. Normal. Inside temps for both zones showing 58, so inside was below setpoint and shouldnít have been calling for it to turn on. Had to use ďOffĒ button to get it to shut down. This morning, put everything back to normal and itís fine. Other than a bad dream, thoughts on cause?
__________________

__________________
Matt & Pam Padgett
Anywhere, USA
2017 30' Classic
2016 Ford F-350 Dually
lukeysh714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 08:15 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Mollysdad's Avatar
 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,914
Not on "Heat pump"?

or I'd have to do some research into the CCC2 but it can store a program. Perhaps it saw 50's and switched to HP?
__________________

Mollysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 09:00 AM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 30' Classic
Anywhere , Alabama
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mollysdad View Post
Not on "Heat pump"?

or I'd have to do some research into the CCC2 but it can store a program. Perhaps it saw 50's and switched to HP?


It was showing still on cool mode when I looked at tstat. Iím stumped.
__________________
Matt & Pam Padgett
Anywhere, USA
2017 30' Classic
2016 Ford F-350 Dually
lukeysh714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 10:36 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 30' Classic
Anywhere , Alabama
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mollysdad View Post
Not on "Heat pump"?

or I'd have to do some research into the CCC2 but it can store a program. Perhaps it saw 50's and switched to HP?


It can store 2 programs, but if it is in program mode, an icon will be visible,,,,,,no icon.
__________________
Matt & Pam Padgett
Anywhere, USA
2017 30' Classic
2016 Ford F-350 Dually
lukeysh714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 11:05 AM   #5
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 8,172
Hi

In heat pump mode it (obviously) goes through a de-ice / cold weather process. There may be some magic code in there to do this once every XX hours, regardless of the mode if the temperature sensor says it's cold out.

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 12:54 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar
 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10,345
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle_bob View Post
Hi

In heat pump mode it (obviously) goes through a de-ice / cold weather process. There may be some magic code in there to do this once every XX hours, regardless of the mode if the temperature sensor says it's cold out.

Bob
I think it is a simple high pressure switch signal that activates the reversing switch. No magic. Just chemistry and physics.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 01:35 PM   #7
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 30' Classic
Anywhere , Alabama
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by dznf0g View Post
I think it is a simple high pressure switch signal that activates the reversing switch. No magic. Just chemistry and physics.


Wasnít on heat pump and wasnít supposed to come on because temps werenít calling for it.
__________________
Matt & Pam Padgett
Anywhere, USA
2017 30' Classic
2016 Ford F-350 Dually
lukeysh714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 01:55 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar
 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10,345
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeysh714 View Post
Wasn’t on heat pump and wasn’t supposed to come on because temps weren’t calling for it.
I was commenting on Uncle Bob's post.

Try going through the reset procedure. I am not a CCC2 expert, but have had to do this on my Brother-in-Law's once or twice for various strange anomalies. I've had to reset my CCC1 a few times as well. Back when I used the store switch a lot, it seemed to have strange behavior occasionally, when powering back up. Now that I have solar on the roof, I don't put in store anymore.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 01:58 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
Foiled Again's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeysh714 View Post
Wasnít on heat pump and wasnít supposed to come on because temps werenít calling for it.
Don't forget Zone1 and Zone2.
With 2 air conditioner you might have had Zone 2 on AUTO or HP and Zone 1 on Cool.

A low enough inside temp would have triggered the second zone to turn on heating in either case.
__________________
Today is a gift, that's why they call it the present.
Foiled Again is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 02:05 PM   #10
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 30' Classic
Anywhere , Alabama
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foiled Again View Post
Don't forget Zone1 and Zone2.
With 2 air conditioner you might have had Zone 2 on AUTO or HP and Zone 1 on Cool.

A low enough inside temp would have triggered the second zone to turn on heating in either case.


Nope. Both zones on cool set to 73. Thatís why Iím stumped. It was cold here so wondering if a drop of condensate got across two circuit board circuits and simulated a turn on command. That happened to our firefly lights in living room area once.
__________________
Matt & Pam Padgett
Anywhere, USA
2017 30' Classic
2016 Ford F-350 Dually
lukeysh714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 05:33 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
Mollysdad's Avatar
 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeysh714 View Post
Both zones on cool set to 73.
As a side note, when I got my AS, it was recommended to NOT set both A/C units the same. Why? So they don't cycle on and off together. I'll set the main one to 73 and the second unit to 75.
That way one comes on to keep the temperature at 73 but if it gets too hot, both can come on at different times.
Mollysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 05:49 PM   #12
2020 Classic 33 on order
 
Box Elder , South Dakota
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,519
Images: 1
Shouldn't be any issue if they cycle on and off at the same time. They are on different legs of your 50 amp power line. Assuming you have 50 amp.
__________________
Gary
2020 Classic 33 Twin, 2019 Ram 3500 Longhorn, ProPride
NōVPN
ghaynes755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 07:11 AM   #13
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 8,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mollysdad View Post
As a side note, when I got my AS, it was recommended to NOT set both A/C units the same. Why? So they don't cycle on and off together. I'll set the main one to 73 and the second unit to 75.
That way one comes on to keep the temperature at 73 but if it gets too hot, both can come on at different times.
Hi

The only time you *really* need both units is when it's really hot (or really cold) in the trailer. When that's true, you most certainly want both on at the same time. They will time out based on the thermostat. Normally one end (the bedroom area in our case) beats the other to temperature by a fairly wide margin.

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 10:22 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
CruizinDux's Avatar

 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Tracktown USA , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by dznf0g View Post
I was commenting on Uncle Bob's post.

Try going through the reset procedure. I am not a CCC2 expert, but have had to do this on my Brother-in-Law's once or twice for various strange anomalies. I've had to reset my CCC1 a few times as well. Back when I used the store switch a lot, it seemed to have strange behavior occasionally, when powering back up. Now that I have solar on the roof, I don't put in store anymore.
X2 on the reboot. It's in the manual.

On our maiden apparently i switched fan frim outo to low. Next morn switched on the furnsce and the AC fired simultaneously.

Reboot suggested on forums fixed issue. Apparently CCC2 has a history of these idiosyncrasies.
B
__________________

CruizinDux is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2008 Ocean Breeze - plugged in, turned a/c on - turned off - Wonít turn on again samiam8888 Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 0 07-04-2018 10:14 AM
Why, Why, Why aviontt On The Road... 22 11-20-2003 08:41 PM
I don't know where to begin - part I susie Our Community 6 09-24-2002 09:26 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
×