Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-03-2013, 07:37 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1958 22' Caravanner
Valdosta , Georgia
'58 Caravanner

Hello All;

I am new to Airstreams but not new to camping or building campers. Basically, wanting to know if there is a way to test the original pressurized water system on a vintage camper, and is there any kind of replacement for this unit?...If yes, then where and who does it so I can have a plan of action for replacement if necessary. Please note, I do own a '58 Caravanner, but I am deployed overseas with U.S. forces in Afghanistan. So I have no access to the trailer at this time. But, all notes will be taken.

Thank you
AirAbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 11:07 AM   #2
1 Rivet Member

1957 22' Caravanner
Coupeville , Washington
Hi,
I am restoring a 57 Caravanner and have restored two sailboats. My experience is to start over with a sureflo on demand water pump. Works like a champ and is quiet.
Thanks for your service, I am a Vietnam vet.
Erik
ErikFrolich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 11:22 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

1958 22' Caravanner
Valdosta , Georgia
Thank you

Thanks for the reply in regards to the water system...but it is too late, I already have an air compressor and have had built a new water tank built (out of Stainless)..so I am going to use a custom electrical system with PV (solar) panels, and multiple battery system. I was looking at many different on demand water systems and I really did not like any of them. Because, it would take too much if something fails (the pump) to replace while in the field. I can always use a bicyce pump if necessary to keep water flowing if the compressor fails. Since this camper is NOT going to be a full time residence it is going to be a temporary asylum from the stupidity that is the modern world.
Old 05-04-2014, 10:03 PM   #4
1 Rivet Member