Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Full-Timing, Winter Living & Workamping > Working on the Road
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-01-2017, 06:57 AM   #21
Rivet Master

2016 16' Sport
Miami , Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary W Wong View Post
I purchased my airstream for business for I am an architect and park it on the job site for a project. I use it for other uses also but it is considered the construction trailer. I plan to add graphics like company logo to the airstream soon to advertise my business also. It will be parked on a major thoroughfare where it will be seen by stop and go traffic.

My accountant was fine with the definition of the construction trailer and when not in use for that it is stored in indoor storage which is written off.

Of course, there are the camping trips and vacations that we go on but not very often.

It is written off as a business expense and items we purchase for it we write off. I bring the airstream to clients in the future and provide a promotional event where we will advertise my company and we purchased a portable BBQ and accessories for the event.

Always clear it with your accountant as I have each step.

I did not think about the travel and lodging concept and I can use that as part of the write offs also now.

Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums

You shouldn't be getting a tax break on the vacation/camping trips no matter how infrequent. Otherwise they are subsidized by the rest of us.
Shiny16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 07:11 AM   #22
Rivet Master

Vintage Kin Owner
Lin , Ne
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiny16 View Post
You shouldn't be getting a tax break on the vacation/camping trips no matter how infrequent. Otherwise they are subsidized by the rest of us.