Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Full-Timing, Winter Living & Workamping > Working on the Road
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-04-2008, 08:15 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Intown , New Jersey
Where can I live?

I'm still new to this idea of living in a travel-trailer, where can I live full-time in one? I have been googling for camp-grounds and rv-parks in NJ, and found a few - but they seem to have weird rules. One camp-ground (Mahlon Dickerson Reservation) says you can only stay there 14 out of 30 days. Another camp-ground is more than $1,000 a month. If I got a TT or RV, where could I l park it to live in? I thought there would be commercial parks that would cater to that.

I have a strong aversion to buying land in NJ, could I lease an acre and put a Travel trailer on it? I think I could I make it "off-the-grid", though I might need a composting toilet and fresh-water supply. It would be nice to have water/sewer hook-ups.

When people live "full-time", are they constantly on the move, or settled down in one place? I want a place to stay. I read (somewhere) that "park models" could not be put on private land, I guess that is to prevent people from using them as residential houses. There seems to be a maze of rules what you can and cannot do.

I'm still not sure how I would make it through the New Jersey winter, but it seems Canadians do it all the time. I saw on youtube where an rv dealer said to look for "Canadian Living Certification" when selecting an RV that could make it through the winter, but when I googled that I did not find anything. I hope AirStream has a winter-capable model.

I'm currently looking at 1995 AirStream Land yachts that seem to be about $25k used. If I replace my Jeep with a truck, I could get a Travel trailer.