Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2015, 08:50 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 33
TV operation

Does anyone know how to operate the tv's? We cannot figure it out. We cannot find any instructions, and we have a 25 ft flying cloud with two lovely tv's, but can't make them operate. We are at a RV park, have the cable hooked up, and get nothing but static on all the channels. This can't be right.


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________

__________________
Rhodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 08:57 PM   #2
Slowpoke
 
Gnorts's Avatar
 
2012 27' Flying Cloud
Portland , Oregon
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 255
Do a channel scan. You will need to do this every time you arrive at a new destination, whether you use cable or antenna. Hit the menu button on the remote and follow your nose.
__________________

__________________
Like the tortoise, travelin' slow with the house on our back
2012 FC27FB "Ted Zeppelin"
2010 Tundra Crewmax Platinum "Silver Rhino"
Gnorts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 09:33 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
gandttimes's Avatar
 
2014 25' FB International
2007 20' Safari SE
2005 19' Safari
Qualicum Beach , British Columbia
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 802
Also, make sure that the little button (signal booster)in the plate behind the TV is pushed in ( on). Also when you are not using the RV, make sure you remember to push it off( current draw).


George
__________________
gandttimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 09:36 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
gandttimes's Avatar
 
2014 25' FB International
2007 20' Safari SE
2005 19' Safari
Qualicum Beach , British Columbia
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by gandttimes View Post
Also, make sure that the little button (signal booster)in the plate behind the TV is pushed in ( on). Also when you are not using the RV, make sure you remember to push it off( current draw).


George
Oops, just re-read your post and noticed you said cable. You only need the booster for antenna, so maybe check that the button is out(off)


George
__________________
gandttimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 09:40 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
AWCHIEF's Avatar
 
2006 23' Safari SE
Biloxi , Mississippi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,136
Images: 33
Also since you have Internet access you can go to the TV makers web site and down load the specific manual for your model. I have done that for all the electronics and systems on my trailer. Much better information than what is provided by Airstream.
__________________
MICHAEL

Do you know what a learning experience is? A learning experience is one of those things that says "You know that thing that you just did? Don't do that."
AWCHIEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 10:30 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
gandttimes's Avatar
 
2014 25' FB International
2007 20' Safari SE
2005 19' Safari
Qualicum Beach , British Columbia
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhodies View Post
Does anyone know how to operate the tv's? We cannot figure it out. We cannot find any instructions, and we have a 25 ft flying cloud with two lovely tv's, but can't make them operate. We are at a RV park, have the cable hooked up, and get nothing but static on all the channels. This can't be right.


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
Did you get the scan to work? Did you check the position of the small push button behind the main TV above the outlet?


George
__________________
gandttimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 11:34 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
aftermath's Avatar
 
2006 25' Safari FB SE
Spokane , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,133
You never mentioned what year your trailer is or where you are located.

If you are not getting a picture when connected to cable you need to make sure that your antenna booster is turned off. Then make sure that the little cable jumper is connected to the face plate below the dining table, that is if you have a later model 25.

If you are getting just a blue screen then you need to scan for channels as people have mentioned. If all you see is static, I don't think that scanning is going to help.

Last spring I was in Walla Walla, WA hooked up to cable and could not get anything. The owner of the park told me that our state had just passed some regulations about how parks could "sell" their cable to the customers. The cable companies require that each connection have its own cable box. Before, the cable box was in the office and all the outlets functioned just fine. Now, the park owner had to come up with something like $200 for each box. He purchased 5 and made these available to customers with just a $20 deposit that was refunded when the box was turned in. What a scam by our beloved monopolistic cable company.

Let us know how it is going.
__________________
aftermath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 12:00 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
KJRitchie's Avatar

 
2008 25' Classic
Wichita Falls , Texas
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,217
Make sure in the TV menu channel scan is set to cable and not antenna.

Kelvin
__________________
KJRitchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 12:20 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
gandttimes's Avatar
 
2014 25' FB International
2007 20' Safari SE
2005 19' Safari
Qualicum Beach , British Columbia
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by aftermath View Post
You never mentioned what year your trailer is or where you are located.

If you are not getting a picture when connected to cable you need to make sure that your antenna booster is turned off. Then make sure that the little cable jumper is connected to the face plate below the dining table, that is if you have a later model 25.

If you are getting just a blue screen then you need to scan for channels as people have mentioned. If all you see is static, I don't think that scanning is going to help.

Last spring I was in Walla Walla, WA hooked up to cable and could not get anything. The owner of the park told me that our state had just passed some regulations about how parks could "sell" their cable to the customers. The cable companies require that each connection have its own cable box. Before, the cable box was in the office and all the outlets functioned just fine. Now, the park owner had to come up with something like $200 for each box. He purchased 5 and made these available to customers with just a $20 deposit that was refunded when the box was turned in. What a scam by our beloved monopolistic cable company.

Let us know how it is going.
Same thing in a park in Lakeside Oregon this winter. Ridiculous. And the reception was still lousy.


George
__________________
gandttimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 01:15 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Gene's Avatar
 
2008 25' Safari FB SE
Grand Junction , Colorado
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,840
TV's change over the years, so the connection may be different. Some later models came with 2 TV's I believe, but that isn't much help. It is easier to help if you let us know the model and year of the trailer and the brands of the TV's.

On our '08 TV, there are 2 places to attach the coaxial cable that comes out of the wall. One is for cable and the other for the roof antenna. I had to move it from one to the other every time I went to a campground with a different set up. Then I got a splitter and 2 short pieces of coax and attached the modification to both TV antenna inputs. Our TV is a Samsung. Sony's were also installed in Airstreams in '07 when the trailer was made and I don't know if those also had the 2 inputs. Anyway, check out the back of the TV to see if you have 2 antenna inputs.

If your TV's are older, they may not be digital and don't work now. You need a converter for that.

As for the individual cable boxes required in some places, we ran into that in Homer, Alaska in 2010. A bulky box that we had to get from the campground office and return before we left. Everyone hated this. Now that Grand Junction has a new cable company (Charter), people had to get a box for every TV. People in GJ have had continual problems with Charter TV, phone and internet and the city is looking into their own internet system. The boxes are for when the cable company converts everything to digital I think. We have Dish for TV at home and you need multiple boxes for HD for every TV. Then you get more rental fees. I have found that SD on a modern TV is not much different than HD, so they can keep their boxes.

Gene
__________________
Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 09:18 PM   #11
3 Rivet Member
 
2014 27' Flying Cloud
Wenatchee , Washington
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 143
We had the same problem on our maiden voyage. I selected cable and did the scan and it still didn't work until I located a button on the back of the television (lower left side) and pushed it in.
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 CTD 4X4 pickup
2014 Airstream Flying Cloud 27FB
WBCCI #7180
21Airstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 11:13 PM   #12
2 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 33
Thanks. We have two tv's. Our model is 2014 Flying Cloud 25 FB. Our tv's are Samsung.
__________________
Rhodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 11:51 PM   #13
3 Rivet Member
 
2014 27' Flying Cloud
Wenatchee , Washington
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 143
Same here.
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 CTD 4X4 pickup
2014 Airstream Flying Cloud 27FB
WBCCI #7180
21Airstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 03:38 PM   #14
1 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
Rogersville , Alabama
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 18
I just read on another forum, that on some AS's that have both Cable & Sat hookups outside that the coax were reversed at the factory. Cable is Sat & Sat is Cable. If you have both outside, try reversing you cable input.
__________________

__________________
wyndysweep is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dometic refrigerator 12vDC operation walter1 Refrigerators 19 08-29-2013 12:47 AM
Therm'x Catalytic Heater Operation walter1 Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 0 09-07-2004 11:02 AM
Heat Pump and Furnace Operation Cracker Water Heaters, Filters & Pumps 21 12-10-2003 04:10 PM
Erratic Brake Operation cesurman Brakes & Brake Controllers 14 04-14-2003 10:54 AM
Univolt Operation melprice Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 11 06-17-2002 05:13 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.