Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2012, 01:34 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
GettinAway's Avatar
 
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Chesterfield , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 835
Running the furnace in a 2011 23FB FC

Quick question..
We were on our break in trip this last weekend.
40 degrees the first night. 90 degrees by the time we were packing up.
I wanted to run the furnace alone, but every time I selected furnace in the "mode" section on the thermostat, the furnace AND the heat pump both came on.
Is there any way to run the furnace without the heat pump coming on?

The furnace worked great, and so did the A/C later when we needed it.

Also, the zone feature on the thermostat must be for two A/C units, right?
Certainly no zones in. 23FB.

Thanks,
Jeff
__________________

__________________
GettinAway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 01:52 PM   #2
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
You have the latest "round" CCC. I'll be interested to see what the replies are from others who have the same setup.
__________________

__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 04:19 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
dkottum's Avatar
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
Battle Lake , Minnesota
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7,716
Forty degrees is about the temp the heat pump will shut down and the furnace will take over automatically as the temperature falls and the heat pump is no longer efficient. I believe if you let them run for a bit longer, the heat pump would have shut down.

The zone function on ours shows nothing either, as you say would be for an additional A/C unit in a larger trailer.

doug k
__________________
dkottum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 04:49 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
murreywalker's Avatar
 
2013 25' FB Flying Cloud
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Branson , Missouri
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 734
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by GettinAway View Post
Quick question..
We were on our break in trip this last weekend.
40 degrees the first night. 90 degrees by the time we were packing up.
I wanted to run the furnace alone, but every time I selected furnace in the "mode" section on the thermostat, the furnace AND the heat pump both came on.
Is there any way to run the furnace without the heat pump coming on?

The furnace worked great, and so did the A/C later when we needed it.

Also, the zone feature on the thermostat must be for two A/C units, right?
Certainly no zones in. 23FB.

Thanks,
Jeff
Last time out I ran into much the same problem, and it was late (past midnight). With the missus sleeping soundly, I attempted to turn on the furnace and in the process apparently tripped the HP. I wound up punching buttons galore, to no avail.

However, in the morning, determined to get to the bottom of things, I went to the Dometic manual and read.

Basically, I think/hope that in the process of button punching, I confused said thermostat. The manual (and I personally think it was written by the same wordsmiths that did the earlier versions of MS Word), suggested a reset; which I did, and after that, the furnace seemed to work as you would expect.

Having said all the above, I only used the furnace once, and further nights camping will reveal whether I found the solution or not.

I have my fingers crossed. ;^)
__________________
2013 25 FC FB (Twin)
2013 Suburban 2500

http://www.pbase.com/murreywalker

2011 23 FC FB
murreywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 07:40 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
GettinAway's Avatar
 
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Chesterfield , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 835
Ha! You guys are scaring me.

The guy at the dealership had no clue. I did a reset per the instructions, but it still ran them both.
The furnace makes about a third of the noise of the heat pump. In fact the heat pump seemed louder than the A/C, that must be related to the fan speed setting.
The heat pump was so loud, it woke up the wife when it came on..

Hopefully I can get this sorted out. My favorite camp sites and times are almost all more comfortable with the furnace on.
__________________
GettinAway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 07:51 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
vswingfield's Avatar
 
1983 34' Excella
1967 24' Tradewind
Little Rock , Arkansas
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,772
Images: 32
Well, till you come up with a better solution, I guess you could go to the breaker box and turn off the one for the AC. Unless that's what powers the control center too.

I'll admit, it seems like there should be a way for you to choose.
__________________
Vaughan
vswingfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 08:55 PM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
bike_addict's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB Flying Cloud
Pearland , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 318
Something's not right. I know I can easily choose between HP and FURN on my control unit. First time I ran my furnace it was setting off my smoke alarm and didn't smell so good. So I used the HP to get me through the night then the next day I opened all the windows and ran the furnace full bore until it burned off whatever the smell was. Point is that it was probably 60 degrees outside during the day when I had it running.
__________________
- Ronnie
bike_addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 04:51 PM   #8
1 Rivet Member
 
2012 25' FB Flying Cloud
Paso Robles , California
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Bike Addict - We have the same set up as you and on her "maiden voyage" I turned on the furnace and set off the smoke detector also. Finally, after two more tries we were able to run it without setting off the detector. I talked to the dealer and he stated that the furnaces come with some oil sprayed in them for protection (I don't know from what). He apologized and said they should have ran the furnace a few more cycles during set up.
GettinAway - My HP and furnace function separately just like it says they are supposed to. I know also that as you cycle through the settings, if you stay on the setting too long the HP will come on and it takes two to three minutes before it will shuts down (just like the AC does). Maybe the HP was shutting down while the furnace was starting?? (Just a guess)
__________________
cdanj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 06:02 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
GettinAway's Avatar
 
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Chesterfield , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 835
I was told that they automatically come on together in the furnace mode.
Someone in JC told me that.
Apparently, you can do some kind of adjustment to the A/C unit on the roof, that might stop it from coming on.
I think I will just unplug from a power source. When I'm on battery, the heat pump won't run..
__________________
GettinAway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 08:23 AM   #10
4 Rivet Member
 
bike_addict's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB Flying Cloud
Pearland , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 318
I can assure that's not how mine runs. They are completely separate.
__________________
- Ronnie
bike_addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 05:45 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
GettinAway's Avatar
 
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Chesterfield , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 835
Quote:
Originally Posted by bike_addict View Post
I can assure that's not how mine runs. They are completely separate.
I got the info from someone in home office..

Thank you, really.. I guess it's a new system, nobody knows how to work it..
__________________
GettinAway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 06:21 AM   #12
2 Rivet Member
 
Terratravels's Avatar
 
2011 27' FB Flying Cloud
2008 16' International
Dunedin , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by GettinAway

I got the info from someone in home office..

Thank you, really.. I guess it's a new system, nobody knows how to work it..
On the last page of the Dometic Manual there are instructions for resetting the controller. I have had to do this several times. It works in getting the the furnace to stop running along with the AC. This controller is overkill for a one zone set up such as ours but it will work with some experimentation on your part with the reset system. I say "experimentation" because it does not work just as the manual suggests. I turn the controller off then hold down the mode and zone buttons at the same time until "zone one" is showing. Then you should be able to turn the controller on and click the mode setting to the setting you desire. Also fairly frequently I have to flip the breaker back on for the AC because various scenarios cause it to flip off such as a brown out in the park or the use of another appliance (the microwave or a hair dryer)
In the trailer. although this is not related, I had the AC unit replaced under warranty because it was not getting cold enough. At that time the repairman had to come back out to reset the new unit on the roof. That is the factory reset that is mentioned in the manual. That was done just once. The other problem can be handled yourself
by patiently getting to know the controller that I am sure was designed for a large boat with four zones to heat and cool. I hope this helps. Just another charming little quirk of our airstream which we now call "CLQ's!
__________________
Terratravels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 06:12 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
GettinAway's Avatar
 
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Chesterfield , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 835
Great! I've reset it many times, but I kept getting the same result.. I'll try this.
I have hope. It will be nice, if I don't have to remember to unplug the AS before calling it a night.
Ha
__________________
GettinAway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 08:00 AM   #14
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,190
Some of the "cheaper" controllers in the SOBs I work on are set up so the a/c-heat pump will come on if you turn the furnace on. I've discovered setting the fan select to "auto" will stop this. You can try it.
Also, on those furnaces setting off the smoke alarm, the "oil" is there to keep the steel parts from rusting before use. It's annoying, at best, and I try to run the furnaces to get the worst of the stench out of them. In Summer, when it's 100 degrees, that's tough...
__________________

__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Springstream 2012 in N.Georgia ALANSD Forum Rallies & Meet Ups 174 05-09-2012 04:33 PM
Sex in an Airstream Fly at Night Fun & Games 686 05-01-2012 06:44 PM
The road to Badlands crazylev On The Road... 16 04-09-2012 07:47 AM
Airstream inspection in Tampa Bay area memberg Trailer Values 4 04-08-2012 12:45 PM
New to the big leagues (first triple axle) Alden Miller 1990 - 1993 Excella 17 04-03-2012 12:06 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.