Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2012, 08:36 AM   #15
4 Rivet Member
 
xo1rider's Avatar
 
2012 27' FB International
Fremont , California
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 268
Images: 9
GettinAway I think you may have a bad unit.

My 2012 International with the same set up from day one the furnace and HP have operated independently. I've done a bit of cold weather camping and use the heat pump during the day when needed and the furnace at night to cut down on the noise.

Assuming your'e still under warranty I'd let the dealer sort it out.

On another note we bought a little ceramic heater that is very, very quiet and heats up the 27' trailer in a nice, fast way. When parked with full hookup I use it to save on propane and for the effective job it does.
__________________

__________________
"The bad news: there is no key to the universe.
The good news: it was never locked."
Swami Beyondananda

http://polakoff.com/RamblinRose/
Our travel log
xo1rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 08:39 AM   #16
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
OK, which thermostat do you have? Three are 3 choices for Dometic units:

* the original (and now discontinued) Comfort Control Center which has 5 buttons on the right side of the controller

* the newer single zone thermostat (which is a round unit strictly for fan/cool/heat) and will not operate a heat pump

* The new CCC II, which is a 12 button unit with a central round window and blue back lighting

If you have version 1, you should be able to use the mode button to toggle thru the various modes that your heat pump is set for (dip switches on the upper unit control what the CCC displays and controls). Fan, cool, heat pump and furnace should all show independently in the window as you toggle thru the modes. Re-set is done by turning off the CCC at the bottom slide switch, holding the mode and zone switches (top and bottom switches) and sliding the bottom switch to 'on'. This will give you 'FF' in the window. You then release the zone and mode switches and go about re-setting your temp settings in the zone (or zones if you have 2 roof units).

If you have version 2 (single zone thermostat) then you don't have a heat pump and you are essentially done here.

If you have the new CCC-II, the reset is similar to the original CCC with a bit of difference. Turn the CCC-II off and depress the mode and zone buttons together. The unit will go into re-set mode and show 'IniT' and all of the zones available. You then hit the 'on' button to begin your normal operation.

You can find the manual here:http://www.earthboundrv.com/wp-conte...l-Center-1.pdf

The CCC-II will automatically go into furnace (or aux. heat mode) mode if the outside ambient temps (according to the manual) go to 30*F and will revert to heat pump when they reach above 35*F.

If you are showing 2 modes simultaneously, I would suspect that your thermostat needs a re-set or possibly replacement.
__________________

__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 05:45 AM   #17
Rivet Master
 
GettinAway's Avatar
 
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Chesterfield , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 836
I have version three you describe. It has the different zones etc..
I've tried the reset several times, and then when I turn on the heat, both the furnace and heat pump come on.
It was 92 yesterday, so I did not try to work with it.
Thx
__________________
GettinAway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 08:44 AM   #18
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by GettinAway View Post
I have version three you describe. It has the different zones etc..
I've tried the reset several times, and then when I turn on the heat, both the furnace and heat pump come on.
It was 92 yesterday, so I did not try to work with it.
Thx
Sounds like your thermostat needs to be replaced.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 05:40 AM   #19
Rivet Master
 
GettinAway's Avatar
 
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Chesterfield , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 836
Wish they would have checked this before delivery..
__________________
GettinAway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 05:02 PM   #20
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
Your unit is not only covered by the Airstream warranty, but also by Dometic's 2 year warranty. You should be able to take it to any factory authorized Dometic service center for warranty work on your heat pump unit and/or thermostat.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 03:40 PM   #21
Rivet Master
 
GettinAway's Avatar
 
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Chesterfield , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 836
I can only get zone 3 to appear. No matter what I do zone 3 is the only setting.
It's 90+ degrees today, so I was trying to get the AC to work, which it does fine, but I still thought I should be able to get it set up in zone 1. No can do..
The thermostat may indeed be bad.

Jeff



Quote:
Originally Posted by Terratravels View Post
On the last page of the Dometic Manual there are instructions for resetting the controller. I have had to do this several times. It works in getting the the furnace to stop running along with the AC. This controller is overkill for a one zone set up such as ours but it will work with some experimentation on your part with the reset system. I say "experimentation" because it does not work just as the manual suggests. I turn the controller off then hold down the mode and zone buttons at the same time until "zone one" is showing. Then you should be able to turn the controller on and click the mode setting to the setting you desire. Also fairly frequently I have to flip the breaker back on for the AC because various scenarios cause it to flip off such as a brown out in the park or the use of another appliance (the microwave or a hair dryer)
In the trailer. although this is not related, I had the AC unit replaced under warranty because it was not getting cold enough. At that time the repairman had to come back out to reset the new unit on the roof. That is the factory reset that is mentioned in the manual. That was done just once. The other problem can be handled yourself
by patiently getting to know the controller that I am sure was designed for a large boat with four zones to heat and cool. I hope this helps. Just another charming little quirk of our airstream which we now call "CLQ's!
__________________
GettinAway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 10:17 PM   #22
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by GettinAway View Post
I can only get zone 3 to appear. No matter what I do zone 3 is the only setting.
It's 90+ degrees today, so I was trying to get the AC to work, which it does fine, but I still thought I should be able to get it set up in zone 1. No can do..
The thermostat may indeed be bad.

Jeff
If your A/C works on zone 3 only, I would bet that it has been improperly set by whoever installed it. There is a strip of 'dip switches' located on the relay board. These are red and white. Look at the way they are set. You should have no zone switch set to 'on' and the furnace should be set to 'on'. All the others should be set to 'off'.

You should then re-set your thermostat and zone one should appear in the window of the t/stat. Furnace should also be there as you toggle thru the modes. I would not count on the t/stat being bad until you confirm that he dip switches are properly set for your unit.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 03:44 AM   #23
Rivet Master
 
GettinAway's Avatar
 
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Chesterfield , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewster View Post
If your A/C works on zone 3 only, I would bet that it has been improperly set by whoever installed it. There is a strip of 'dip switches' located on the relay board. These are red and white. Look at the way they are set. You should have no zone switch set to 'on' and the furnace should be set to 'on'. All the others should be set to 'off'.

You should then re-set your thermostat and zone one should appear in the window of the t/stat. Furnace should also be there as you toggle thru the modes. I would not count on the t/stat being bad until you confirm that he dip switches are properly set for your unit.
Thank you Lewster,
One small problem, where is the relay board? And where will the dip switches be on the board? I'm hoping this solves the problems..
Thanks again,
Jeff
__________________
GettinAway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 08:55 AM   #24
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by GettinAway View Post
Thank you Lewster,
One small problem, where is the relay board? And where will the dip switches be on the board? I'm hoping this solves the problems..
Thanks again,
Jeff
The relay board is usually under the shroud of the A/C unit. On the curb side of the unit, you will see a small metal door held on by 2 sheet metal screws. The relay boards on the Dometic heat pumps are normally located behind that little door.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:32 PM   #25
Rivet Master
 
mefly2's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Western , ** Big Sky Country ** Montana
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,283
Can you move through the options to HP mode and shut it off? That works for us and then we can go to furnace and adjust the temp until the furnace (only) comes on. Agreed the HP in heat mode is like a hurricane caught inside your AS.
__________________
mefly2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 01:18 PM   #26
Rivet Master
 
GettinAway's Avatar
 
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Chesterfield , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 836
I have seen the light!! I am very fortunate, two guys from the home office came out to St Louis to work on my 23FC FB. I had issues with the white corrosion that they took care of.
I also reviewed what I thought was wrong with my thermostat. That the furnace would not come on without the heat pump coming on..
As it turns out, if I run "furnace" in "mode" and have the fan set to "automatic" instead of low, med, or high, the furnace comes on without the heat pump!!
I guess I had never tried that option.. So problem is solved!!
Thank you Dave and Tim for coming all the way from Jackson Center, Ohio to fix my AS. They are great guys!! I am very impressed with the way AS handled this.

Jeff
__________________
GettinAway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 08:37 AM   #27
2 Rivet Member
 
Terratravels's Avatar
 
2011 27' FB Flying Cloud
2008 16' International
Dunedin , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Ah! This must be the "charming little quirk" that I could not identify! I mostly keep mine on Automatic. Now I know what I was doing right!
__________________
Terratravels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 10:14 PM   #28
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
Quirk indeed!

The older CCC-I doesn't have this 'operational anomaly'. Very interesting.

Interesting also, I generally suggest to all of my clients to leave the fan set on 'HI' and not 'auto'. This may be a personal preference, but after full-timing in a 40' diesel pusher motor home in warm climates, I was using at least one and mostly both roof air conditioners a lot. The 'auto' setting will shut the entire unit (both fan and compressor) when the thermostat is satisfied.

I prefer to have the fan running constantly and have the compressor cycling. This provides better overall air flow within the RV and also is better when you are sleeping, as the fan provides 'white noise' so you hardly hear the compressor kick on. Both fan and compressor engaging and shutting down at approximately the same time on 'auto' would interrupt my sleep. YMMV!
__________________

__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Springstream 2012 in N.Georgia ALANSD Forum Rallies & Meet Ups 174 05-09-2012 04:33 PM
Sex in an Airstream Fly at Night Fun & Games 686 05-01-2012 06:44 PM
The road to Badlands crazylev On The Road... 16 04-09-2012 07:47 AM
Airstream inspection in Tampa Bay area memberg Trailer Values 4 04-08-2012 12:45 PM
New to the big leagues (first triple axle) Alden Miller 1990 - 1993 Excella 17 04-03-2012 12:06 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.