Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Flying Cloud > 2009-2015 Flying Cloud
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-13-2015, 10:20 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member

houston , Texas
FC 25 - 1 a/c or 2?

So I'm still learning about these machines, and I had thought that the 25 came with a single 15k A/C.

My local dealer has one, but it lists "2nd a/c installed".

Is this a factory option?

Is a second A/C needed honestly?

Does my dealer do this to trump up the MSRP? Or is this truly a good idea?

My old 40' DP had 2 a/c's, and in the balzing texas sun if you had zero shade,... it would be 80-90 INSIDE - but i also blame poor design for a lot of this. Slides are horribly inefficient. We learned in the sun you had to close the slides, you had to shut down the ducted vents in the bedroom, close the bedroom door, pull down the shades, and the front would cool - vice versa for the rear at night.

But I have no idea how well an AS holds up against the heat. Any pointers?
Plasma800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 10:35 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
The single A/C was enough in our 25', but if you stop in 100 degree weather, and hook up, it will take a couple of hours to cool it down. IMHO on a 31', you need the two A/C units in Texas.
Old 05-13-2015, 11:16 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member

houston , Texas
Yeah no doubt, our travels take us all around. Last year we went to san fran, arizona, new mexico, austin, dallas, chicago, new jersey, boston, maine, vermont, Tennessee, atlanta .

We go to a lot of trade shows and expos. I think one a/c can probably handle the most of what I do. And If im camping in solid texas weather, most places I want to stay (state park) you're usually in some shade.