Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Airstream Lifestyle
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-22-2016, 08:46 AM   #1

Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
glen st mary , Florida
Wife wants a new Class A motor home - I am interested in Airstream

I am an accountant (retired) and I am a cheapskate. I am really interested in an airstream for our first camper. My wife, influenced by close friends, is interested in a new MH. We will be traveling with those friends.

I really like the idea of not losing 25 percent of value in the first year and another 15 percent the next year.

Is an airstream more financially wise than a MH?

It would probably require me to get a new or newer truck but I need one and I can finance it. Mine is a 2004 with 130000 miles.

I will be asking more questions on this post as I learn more.

What is your opinion on an airstream versus class A motorhome?

Thanks
Olustee bus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 08:55 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

houston , Texas
this depends.... Class A moho's are beasts...

IF you buy a brand new, you'll likely be plagued with 6 months of shake down fixes. Some, up to a year..... or you might be the lucky 2% who only needs one visit back to a service center.

IF you buy a used class A, you'll likely be plagued with hidden cover up fixes, leaks, and other junk that generally feels like someone placed a vacuum cleaner in your wallet.

If you buy a gasoline class A, you're going to be plagued with bad handling (fixable for an additional 2 to 5k), and an incredibly noisy, high revving engine at your feet.

If you buy a Diesel class A, you're likely to spend a lot to get it, and be met with several new complicated systems.. like air brakes, air bags, all that junk