Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-15-2013, 01:05 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

East Falmouth , Massachusetts
When purchasing a used Airstream

Hello everyone -

My question concerns the purchase of a used Airstream and what you would do, or have done. For example, if I were to purchase...let's say a 2009 Flying Cloud, it seems to me that I should take it to the closest Airstream dealer for a check-up to identify any "under the hood" things that need attention, God knows what....new tires perhaps, etc.

Because I am new to this, my logic has been to purchase a new Airstream with the belief that all would be OK. Clearly, however, there are many people who purchase used Airstreams and manage to do just fine.

Your thoughts and experience on this subject would be appreciated.

Many thanks.

Kristine
AKristine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 01:08 PM   #2
Pet Sitter Extraordinaire

1989 33' Land Yacht
Chattanooga , Tennessee
I have always bought used Airstreams. You know there may be some things that need to be done and a lot of the time the PO will tell you about it.

Even some of the brand new ones need some tweaking. It's all in what you want and how much you want to do to it. Can't go wrong either way.
kposey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 01:23 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2007 23' Safari SE
Central , Connecticut
Certainly, taking a used trailer to a good RV mechanic would tell you some things. But folks here have had dealers do pre-purchase inspections, only to find that they missed big issues like floor rot.

Read up on the common issues. Take a list of things to check (going through all of the systems, etc). Maybe ask for an inspector from the forum to go with you.