Old 09-01-2013, 11:52 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2010 25' FB Flying Cloud
Carefree , Arizona
Six Months into our Airstream Adventure...

This forum has been very helpful but I am guilty of not contributing so here goes...hope other find some useful info here. Just so everyone knows, we are absolute newbies to the RV world. Here goes...

Our Airstream...
Ran into a great deal back in March on a like new 2010 Flying Cloud 25FB and we didn't hesitate...we went for it. Did it before we even had a tow vehicle. So far it has exceeded our expectations in every way. If we could change anything, we would like it to have a bit more room on the narrow side of the queen bed.

The Search for the right Tow Vehicle...
Finding the right tow vehicle has been a bit like Goldilocks and the three Bears. So we'll call it Airstream and three TVs...

Did a bunch of research including reading every post here and purchased a 2012 Ford F-150 EcoBoost with Max tow package. Had only 5k miles on it and was like new. Great truck. Quiet, smooth, awesome power. Gas mileage was always poor but may have been due to it not being broken in. Issue was the wheelbase...it was the 157" model and I underestimated just how long that is. Simply put, it was so long it was painful to maneuver with or without the trailer. Other concern was payload. Due to the tongue weight of the 25FB, it was always a concern. Lastly, wanted the TV to be a daily driver and this wasn't it.