Old 12-04-2013, 07:07 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2015 30' FB FC Bunk
Ayer , Massachusetts
I have an interesting situation.

I have wanted an Airstream for as long as I can remember. I'm an architect, I love design, I value it and will pay for it. Obviously, I only want an Airstream.

My wife on the other hand, likes space and slidouts, she doesn't necessarily see the poor qaulity, fit and finish issues of the SOB. She was actually turned off from the Airstream because she said they were small. Then if you read my first post, you'd be happy to hear I finally got her to "acquire" a taste for them. Now she wants one.

I could buy new or I could by used. I love the new, but I feel like I am not 100% responsible in dropping that kind of money. Its not an affordability issue, its if I should drop that money on a toy or saving for retirement, etc.

So now we know we want a bunkhouse, and I located one of them. I want to jump at it but my wife is not hot on a used trailer. Would I love a new Airstream? Boy would I. That really is the only toy I would ever want.

So I am in this interesting fix. My wife has given the green light to buy the toy of my dreams, yet I am holding back because I don't know if I am being responsible.

The last thing I want is for my wife to not want to go on trips because the trailer is not exactly what she wanted. She talks like she wants new because she wants it to be only ours, every scrape and ding and piece of dirt on it is ours and not be wondering where, or who put it there. I think you know what I mean. And I know, a happy wife....

Do I just buy a new one? Or do I try and get her to buy into the used one? What would you do and why?

Old 12-04-2013, 07:20 PM   #2
Well Preserved

1974 31' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
A new one comes with a two year factory warranty, to fix any incidentals that come up.
A new one comes with a toilet and beds that have not been slept in or sat on.