Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Airstream Lifestyle
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-05-2013, 01:34 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2006 25' Safari FB SE
Draper , Utah
How important is "Kid's Space" in RV

Newbie here. On the verge of purchasing first RV. Been looking for a couple of months.

QUESTION FOR SEASONED TRAVELERS:
How important is it for a kid (ours is 28 months) to have their own bed (space) in your travel trailer?
Do they need their own bed?
Or, do they just need a place that they know is where they sleep?

What about a little place for their "stuff"?

They will go to bed earlier than the adults for several years, thus it makes me wonder if they will sleep in the bed, while Mom and Dad have to sleep on the lounge/dinette area?

What about friends? Will they want to bring one when we go camping when they get 7 or 8 (if the parents will let them come)?
If so, I could see them out in the living area while we are retiring in the bedroom.
How important is that separate bed?
A friend said he needs his own bed. He also stated that we need to buy for the trailer that will need in 5 years from now when he is about 7/8.

Background:
Family size is 3 plus 1 small doggie.
I love AS. I have always wanted one.

We have decided that a 27-30 ft. might be a good size.
Looking at a 27 FB with lounge area and a 30 Ft. BH. USED
Problem is that money certainly comes into play.

Dear AS friends, please don't get ill with me, but I have to think what is financially best for us and
For $10-20K less , I could purchase the best SOB with a bunkroom and huge living space, outdoor grill/kitchen etc. at the same length.

Really torn here. Wondering if now is the right time for AS.