Old 12-02-2012, 03:43 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Hoover , Alabama
Contemplation - Preparation - Advice???

So, hello everyone! I am a 29 year old pharmacist - live in Birmingham, Alabama. Married (she's drug dealer too) we have a 2 year old son, and another due 1/19/13 (will not know the sex till then).

I am contemplating on starting a plan to save and prep for our family to do alot of camping vacations, tailgating (roll tide!), and just weekend get aways locally on the cheap ya know!

I was talking to some friends about buying something like a trailer or a 5th wheel later to go down to the gulf of mexico for example...or camping trips more abroad. The gulf is very fun to go in a camper. My first ever time going to the beach was with a friend's family who had a pretty basic travel trailer and at age 15 we slept in a tent, and parents and his younger sister slept in their camper. It was like 20 bucks a day and we were just a few steps pretty much from the beach! Had just a blast.

I want the same for my kids growing up and more

Anyway, my friend's wife starting talking up airstream "bullet" TT' curious and researching just for fun and they do indeed have their appeal.

I have some initial thoughts and possible plans to save properly and get into this and wanted to share with you all and see if you all think its a good idea - I have some basic concerns you all may provide clarity.

I moonlight as a pharmacist 8 hours per month - this + my budgeted allowance gives me $684 per month to stow away as I see fit. Also, I will get a final educational bonus from my job next year of 10K. If I save right now, come 2014, I could have roughly 18,000 at my disposal. Credit at that point is an option if needed...but would not want to swamp my "fun budget" honestly - yuck!

Current Truck: