Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Airstream Lifestyle
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-25-2016, 04:58 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1976 31' Sovereign
Springfield , South Carolina
Another reason to own a Airstream

I am a volunteer firefighter and the next department over has just rolled into a scene with a fully involved camper three minutes ago parked in the yard of a residence. The call went out 15 minutes ago that an on board generator caught a camper on fire. All were out but their cat.

As well it was threatening a nearby structure.

Made me appreciate our 76 Sovereign that much more.

I am surprised there is not more of these incidents with on board units.

When I hook up auxillary power to our home (three times in last 15 years) the unit is away from anything that will light off and when we go to bed it is shut down.

Radio traffic just indicated it was knocked down but they are standing by till it cools down.

Lesson here is generators are fine but keep them away from anything that will ignite if something happens.
Hummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2016, 05:19 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2014 23' Flying Cloud
Fair Oaks , California
How would you rate the risk of accident from a gasoline powered generator with the risk of accident from an on-board propane system that might be powering any or all of the stove, refrigerator, hot water heater, and furnace at the same time? How about operating a gasoline powered generator in the rain? I assume you wouldn't recommend sheltering it under the tailgate of the truck? Any other advice other than keeping it away from things you don't want burned up?

Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
McDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2016, 04:14 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member

1976 31' Sovereign