Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Airstream Lifestyle
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-15-2013, 10:04 PM   #41
2 Rivet Member

2007 27' Safari FB SE
Springfield , Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by PharmGeek View Post
I am new to RV's...what is the functional difference (in dumb terms) with the 30 vs. 50 amp issue here?

We are looking to buy new this year possibly, and noticing the 28' flying cloud comes with only one 15K btu ac unit...I would need to special order (higher cost) or have it added after...

On the other hand, if we decide on a 30', it already has 2 15k units stock I think....a 10K ish difference in cost of the models....wonder how much cost to add the 2nd AC on the 28 would be both from jackson direct in the first place...vs. after the fact as was done by lylesgl?

On the other
A 30 amp service is not capable of powering 2 13K or larger air conditioners simultaneously; therefore upgrade to a 50 amp service is required. If you purchase the 30' with two a/c stock, it will come with 50 amp service. I went around the requirement to upgrade to 50 amp service by having the electrical for the second a/c installed separate from the stock 30 amp electrical.

I'll send you a PM
lylesgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 10:22 PM   #42
Rivet Master

1969 29' Ambassador
brooksville , Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by lylesgl View Post