Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2008, 10:39 AM   #85
Rivet Master
 
cameront120's Avatar
 
1972 25' Tradewind
North Vancouver , British Columbia
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,422
Images: 23
Ultimately, I'd like to get away from Autocad and use Vectorworks. Then I can kiss Windows goodbye forever.
__________________

__________________
Cameron & the Labradors, Kai & Samm
North Vancouver, BC
Live! Life's a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death! - Mame Dennis
cameront120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 10:45 AM   #86
Rivet Master
 
purman's Avatar
 
1968 28' Ambassador
Cedaredge , Colorado
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,542
Vectorworks???? I might have to look into that... I do house plans and lot plans for a friend of mine when he needs help.... (civil engineer) He is also looking for something new....
__________________

__________________
Jason

May you have at least one sunny day, and a soft chair to sit in..

2008 5.7 L V8 Sequoia
AIR # 31243
WBCCI # 6987
FOUR CORNERS UNIT
purman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 10:56 AM   #87
2 Rivet Member
 
Eliminator46's Avatar
 
1970 25' Tradewind
Cleveland , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 89
Images: 45
I'm Kinda stuck in the PC/Windows world. I run 4 desktops and one notebook at the house. I'm one that's not big on change.
__________________
Eliminator46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 11:35 AM   #88
Rivet Master
 
StingrayL82's Avatar
 
San Angelo , Texas
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,250
Images: 37
Here at work we have the Dell Optiplex GX620, which is being replaced with the Optiplex 740. It does a good job.

At home I have my trusty '00 Dell Dimension 4100. I max'd out the RAM to 512MB and added a 60GB internal harddrive to supplement the original 10GB. I also have an 80GB external harddrive. The only thing I've really done is to get rid of the original Windows ME that came with it and went to Windows XP and recently upgraded to Vista w/SP1. I like it, but Brooke doesn't.

My HP zd8000 laptop crapped out on me some months ago, and I'm in the market now to replace it, but I haven't found anything I like yet.
__________________
Frederic
1971 Sovereign International - SOLD

2004 F-350 King Ranch

AIR # 8239
EX-WBCCI # 8371
StingrayL82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 11:39 AM   #89
Rivet Master
 
purman's Avatar
 
1968 28' Ambassador
Cedaredge , Colorado
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,542
Man, 512mb... I can't run some of my stuff on that.. Wish i could..... seems like I buy a new computer every few years.... My wife's office needs upgrades every two years... She Hates To Wait...... I have 2 gigs of ram in her PC...
__________________
Jason

May you have at least one sunny day, and a soft chair to sit in..

2008 5.7 L V8 Sequoia
AIR # 31243
WBCCI # 6987
FOUR CORNERS UNIT
purman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 11:50 AM   #90
Rivet Master
 
StingrayL82's Avatar
 
San Angelo , Texas
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,250
Images: 37
When I bought the HP laptop, I got every bell & whistle I could think of. It's a Pentium 4 2.3GHz, I had 2GB RAM in it, I upped the HD to 150GB, I had a CD/DVD burner, and it was a nice silver color. I'm tempted to take it to Best Buy and let the Geek Squad see what's wrong with it. I keep getting the BSOD, when I try to format and reload Windows....seems to get hung up on Luna.mst

Who knows. I can't bring myself to get rid of the Dell, because it's never let me down. I wish I could put more RAM in it, but at that time the Pentium III w/800MHz was the top of the line, and it won't recognize more than 512.
__________________
Frederic
1971 Sovereign International - SOLD

2004 F-350 King Ranch

AIR # 8239
EX-WBCCI # 8371
StingrayL82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 11:56 AM   #91
Rivet Master
 
purman's Avatar
 
1968 28' Ambassador
Cedaredge , Colorado
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,542
Problem with HP and compact, once you change somtehing your in trouble, My brother works for EA sports... They won't touch them in his office for testing stuff on... To much trouble...

We use dell at work.. reliable machines...
__________________
Jason

May you have at least one sunny day, and a soft chair to sit in..

2008 5.7 L V8 Sequoia
AIR # 31243
WBCCI # 6987
FOUR CORNERS UNIT
purman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 11:58 AM   #92
Full Timers/Diesel power.
 
Mike Leary's Avatar
 
1983 31' Airstream310
Cactus Hug , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,540
Images: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DFDureiko View Post
I use a MacBook, and I connect to the 'net using the Verizon Broadband Access Handset "feature" via Bluetooth and Moto V750 when on the road. The "feature" can be turned on and off and you pay only for the days used which is about 1.98 a day
Dan
That sounds very cool; could you explain this a little more & what was the
upfront investment?
__________________
Mike Leary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 11:59 AM   #93
Rivet Master
 
StingrayL82's Avatar
 
San Angelo , Texas
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,250
Images: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by purman View Post
Problem with HP and compact, once you change somtehing your in trouble, My brother works for EA sports... They won't touch them in his office for testing stuff on... To much trouble...

We use dell at work.. reliable machines...

Yeah, I'm leaning towards Dell for our next laptop.
__________________
Frederic
1971 Sovereign International - SOLD

2004 F-350 King Ranch

AIR # 8239
EX-WBCCI # 8371
StingrayL82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 04:49 PM   #94
SJ1
2 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
Gwinnett County , Georgia
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 72
Mike Leary, I use a Macbook Pro and have a Verizon USB-port broadband card. The Macbook Pro was $2000 and the Verizon broadband card is for unlimited access and costs $60 each month, under a two-year contract. There was no charge for the broadband card or a registration fee. I bought the computer and got the Verizon card just before Christmas last year. The cell phone companies were looking for sales. I just asked what they were each offering and Verizon seemed to have the best offer and coverage.
__________________
SJ1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 05:00 PM   #95
2 Rivet Member
 
2003 22' International
Waverly , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 70
PC (lap top) with USB modem for internet access.
__________________
nayl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 08:17 PM   #96
2 Rivet Member
 
2003 22' International
Waverly , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 70
Just got a MacBook Pro (15 inch) for my daughter. We also each have an iPod. Not iPhone users because of poor AT&T reception in our area.

We have started to take only one laptop on our trips, so I guess I'll be learning the programs as we travel. I am pretty proficient with Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and Visio and really don't look forward to learning how to do these functions on the Mac, but necessity will dictate.

I purchased iWork. Is is worth it or recommended to get Office for Mac?
__________________
nayl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 08:55 PM   #97
_
 
. , .
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,812
hi nayl

lesson 1...

on da'mac, programs are called applications...

unless u mean downloading an episode of a television program.



grab a copy of the pogue book "switching to mac the missing manual snow leopard"

here 4 example...

this book does an excellent job of translating hard core windoz terminology and functions...

into what/how/why they happen on mac.
_________

IF you are totally set on sticking with ms/office,

the mac version is essentially the same bloatware as the windoz app...

except for the basic mac/look/feel and keyboard which THE BOOK will sort out for ya.

the visio thing on mac is best done with omnigraffle, it out does v' in many ways...

and there are free/share ware things that do SOME v' functions.

_________

iwork is a fine application package but it's VERY DUE for an upgrade, like any time now.

IF u buy 09 now, you will still pay FULL PRICE for the upgrade if it comes out tomorrow.

apple doesn't historically do interval/upgrade pricing on life/work bundles.
_________

my approach to finally switching was to simply TURN OFF the windoz machine and do mac.

(after using both for many years with students)

this was a bit like total immersion in learning a new language,

but worked out well and my brain LIKED the exercise.

and it's an old brain...
_________

if you REALLY REALLY wanna stay in the windoz world u can load win7 and have 2 systems in ONE laptop...

1. will be fun, easy and extremely functional...

2. while the other will need virus protection and daily maintenance...
_________

IF u have a mission critical program with windoz dna

and they is NO mac equivalent, setting up a dual boot or parallels/win7 partition makes sense...
_________

but if not just get yer brain into something new.

cheers
2air'
__________________
all of the true things that i am about to tell you are shameless lies. l.b.j.

we are here on earth to fart around. don't let anybody tell you any different. k.v.
2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 09:16 PM   #98
2 Rivet Member
 
2003 22' International
Waverly , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 70
Thanks for the info 2airishuman. iWorks due for an upgrade... that's probably why we got a rebate coupon!

The Mac is essentially my daughter's computer, but I do use it to browse the internet. She generously gave me her old Toshiba (absolutely great, little, very reasonably priced laptop) because my (very expensive) Dell is on the fritz.
__________________

__________________
nayl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blues loving Airstreamers rastapoodle Airstream Lifestyle 2 08-09-2011 07:48 PM
Any n.c. Airstreamers? lookin1 Other Clubs 4 07-11-2011 10:53 PM
So excited...brand new, big family Airstreamers! CarolineJ Member Introductions 6 06-09-2011 09:09 AM
New Airstreamers wperry Member Introductions 9 02-21-2011 07:05 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.