Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Airstream Lifestyle
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-10-2013, 05:48 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
San Antonio , Texas
Cool A little overwhelming

I would like to lead off with I am a newbie so please forgive me. My wife and I are considering purchasing an Airstream and don’t know where to start. We are kind of purists so we were considering buying a 1962 or earlier because we feel these are in Wally Byam’s vision. (not saying there is anything wrong with newer ones)
After going to http://www.airstream.com/service/specifications/ we think the two models we like are the 22 foot Safari (double bed) or the 24 foot Trade wind (double bed) They both look as though they have similar layouts and we like the wardrobe and chest of drawers.
While looking we saw this one. http://vintage - airstream dot com/listing/402/1961-airstream-safari It is way out of our price range, but it is beautiful. The other one we looked at online was http://vintage - airstream dot com/listing/193/1962-airstream-safari but clearly it was sold.
Some of the features we are considering are the door in door and non-jalousie windows (but are open-minded on the windows).
I know everyone has their own opinions and I would like to hear them. I am also hoping to connect with people who own these models and get their likes and dislikes on the models. Thank you all for your help.
jester065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 07:24 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1959 26' Overlander
Western , Massachusetts
jester-

Welcome to the forums -- you have very good taste in considering '63 and earlier trailers. They do come with their problems and can be a black hole for time and money if you don't do your research.