Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-31-2006, 09:58 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Tulsa , Oklahoma
Would this be helpful for this forum?

High all! Newbie here (i.e., I'm not sure about what the finer details are regarding appropriate content for this forum). It seems to me that one important reason new people (like me) join this forum is to get some idea about the cost associated with refurbishing an AS trailer or RV. I can only imagine that everyone gets fairly bored with answering these same initial questions over and over again?

Would it be of any value to somehow archive or link to a spreadsheet that had some cost guestimates by category that you could redirect newbies like me to? If yes, I am in the early stages of putting one together for myself (re: refurb of a 1988 345). Of course, I am not qualified to fill in the blanks, but the members of this forum have been more than willing to assist!

If this is a bad idea or not in keeping with the intent of this forum just let me know.

As for the approach I am using, I am trying to capture some estimates on the LOW end (i.e. used parts, great bargains, etc.) to the HIGH end (i.e. new parts from manufacturer), as well as, a breakdown of LABOR vs. PARTS (so I could see how much I might save by doing the work myself. I am also including a category for places to find new/used parts.

It seems like much of this general info is fairly reuseable regardless of the size/type of AS you have.

I assume the moderators would be the best ones to decide if this would be helpful? And/or which forum to link it to (since it would cross over multiple forums).

Thanks for all the help to date.
New2it is offline   Reply With Quote