Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-08-2007, 09:07 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2012 25' FB International
Evanston , Illinois
Smile Working From Your Airstream

Greetings,

My job allows me to work from home. All I need is telephone service, broadband computer Internet & E-mail access plus the ability to fly, when needed. I started with landline phone service & wired cable Internet service. I graduated to a cell phone/PDA (Treo Smartphone) with Internet & E-mail service plus the landline & wi-fi laptop Internet & E-mail access. Then I got a broadband PCMCIA cellular Internet/E-mail card for my laptop.

At this point, I finally realized that I could perform the duties of my job from nearly anywhere so long as I had cellular (voice & data) service and access to an airport within a day or so. That said, we bought a 19 foot Ocean Breeze Bambi and are ready to begin testing the feasibility of my idea.

The purpose of this thread is to allow people who simultaneously work and Airstream (and wannabes) the opportunity to share their experiences, plans, hopes, wishes, dreams &/or thoughts on this topic. My hope is that by sharing our thoughts, we can help each other actualize our dreams.

Thanks, in advance, for your participation!

Regards,

Jerry
Old 09-08-2007, 09:21 PM   #2

2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
We, too, run our business (Moose Tags Cable Labels - Label Your Cables, cords, and wires.) from Lucy, our Safari 25FB. We have most of the same needs as yours. Broadband internet access, telephone, fax. We have all that covered as you did. We also need an onboard printer for invoices and shipping labels. We got a small H-P that fits in one of the overhead cabinets. We have it rigged so that we can print in place without moving the printer.