Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-22-2005, 11:07 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Want to get airstream, confused...

Hi people,
I am new to the forum, don't have an airstream yet. I have called several lenders and they none of them will finance the RV I want because of the age. Being a mechanic, I know that the vehicle is completely sound and will last many years. They dont care about stuff like that. They all say 10 years or newer to finance RV. This is my first major purchase other than my house, so I don't really know what steps to take. Oh, also, I am taking a big leap into airstream RV, if I were to compare the price, I could get another brand RV twice as new, with slides and other cool stuff. Why am I set on an old Airstream, someone convince me?
-Keith
urbanextreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 11:16 AM   #2
Rivet Master

Borrow against your home equity, it will be easier and cost less.
RichardT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 11:16 AM   #3
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
Quote:
Originally Posted by urbanextreme
Hi people,
I am new to the forum, don't have an airstream yet. I have called several lenders and they none of them will finance the RV I want because of the age. Being a mechanic, I know that the vehicle is completely sound and will last many years. They dont care about stuff like that. They all say 10 years or newer to finance RV. This is my first major purchase other than my house, so I don't really know what steps to take.
-Keith
There are three alternatives, as I see it:
1- Get a personal loan for the amount of the trailer.
2- find an Airstream that is less than 10 years old, so you can get a regular loan.
If you own your home, you can do as RichardT suggests, and borrow against its equity.
There is a fourth, but I don't recommend it, go see Uncle Guido for a sho0rt-term, high interest loan.