Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-01-2003, 12:13 PM   #1

Thinking about it

At the moment, I am 8 to 12 years away from retirement (depending upon whether or not I work until I am 70). I have my small pickup with a camper shell, to which I attach my tent for camping, attach my moped to my trailer hitch, and off I go---from our home in Las Vegas to my favorite - Kelly Creek/Northfork Clearwater in Idaho, but also to 4-Corners, Montana, Wyoming. The nice thing about being a HS math teacher is being free all summer long to pursue my passion---the main reason I am a teacher.

I have always dreamed of an Airstream, since a kid seeing them out on the road, and I still drool whenever I come across one while out on my summer trips. Hence, am enjoying reading many of your conversations about everything, and becoming increasingly more well-informed---thanks.

The main issues for me now are: (1) When I buy one, I will need to store it because there is absolutely no room here at our home in LV, with 2-car garage and small yard space. Any knowledge on cost of that? (2) I don't know whether to wait until retiring (or just before) or to go ahead now---will be in much better shape financially at retirement time, but would sure like to start sooner!

All I have read from your postings has provided me a lot of info on towing rigs, vintage vs new, size of trailer, etc.

Thanks for the past info and anything any of you may have to say now. By the way, any fellow flyfisherman out there who want to discuss anything about that? I haven't seen many Airstreamers on my flyfishing trips through the years, but haven't gone to many places other than those mentioned either---every summer since about 92-93'.